postcards from home

So I went home and checked my mailbox, hoping to find in there a parcel notice from the postal office. Instead, I got these two postcards from my nieces in the Philippines which they got from when they were on Corregidor Island.

With the way the world and the way we communicate are changing, postcards are of a dying breed. That’s why whenever I travel, I always send postcards to my family back home and buy a couple to keep for myself.

Nothing beats a hand-written note, an exciting story told in a three-by-five-inch writing space. Sometimes you had too much to write your words bleed into the edge. Or sometimes you had too little to write you draw suns or flowers or hearts. Nothing beats the romance of a picture-perfect postcard traveling thousands of miles just to reach you. Sometimes, you’ll even see the crease from when the card was put into the postal box slot, or a silly little smudge from a postman’s blackened fingers. Nothing beats the notion that at one time in one person’s journey, they thought of you – wishing you were there. Nothing beats that no matter the time, no matter the place, a postcard is something you can put on your refrigerator door or keep in your carved wooden box case. A postcard is eternal. For as long as you cherish it.

When did you last send one?

9 Responses to “postcards from home”


  1. 2 Mrs. T, thebaghag February 24, 2010 at 5:40 am

    Woops I mean, you are right– postcards are a thing of the past, so it’s always a pleasant surprise and a treat to be getting one or two in the mail :)

  2. 4 M'laden February 24, 2010 at 10:36 am

    I agree. I always send postcards from my travels. It allows me to keep in touch with people I don’t get to see regularly and update them on what I’m doing, rather than just sending a random email and saying “I’m going on holiday next week”. I especially like places with special postmark stamps which make the postcard the extra bit unique (e.g. Rialto Towers, Melbourne; Victoria Peak, Hong Kong; Tokyo Disneyland, Tokyo). I also send myself blank postcards from LV Carnet de voyage books so that they have the date and postmark of when I visted.

    • 5 freshmess February 24, 2010 at 11:25 am

      I didn’t know about special postmark stamps so that’s good to know. I’ll be on the lookout next time. And that is a brilliant idea what you do with the Carnet de Voyage books! Glad to see another postcard sending fellow. :)

  3. 6 yed February 25, 2010 at 4:27 pm

    i like this post of yours. and i did just that last year during my trip there…:P i so agree! love postcards…

  4. 8 Coffe February 26, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    Last sent on Monday. To my penpals and esp my friends studying overseas.


  1. 1 i get by with a little love from my friends « fresh mess Trackback on March 10, 2010 at 11:15 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


