fresh mess for garage feb/mar 2010: eye of the taiga

For my third column for Garage Magazine, I put the new Louis Vuitton Taiga accessories collection under the spotlight. 

Devoid of any monograms which the house of Louis Vuitton is known (and maliciously copied) for, these new bags are a study in restrained elegance. Either that you hate it and find it boring, or like me, you like it and find that it only leaves room for self-expression. I have to admit that when I started buying Louis Vuitton not too long time ago, it had to be about the monograms, quatrefoils, and the trademark checkers. But lately, I tend to appreciate the more subtle bags with minimal branding. In this new set of bags, only a discreet LV stamp can be found. That’s the kind of luxury that is whispered and not shouted, to borrow a quote.

I am eyeing for myself the Cabas Zippé in Boreal (deep, dark cobalt blue), the standout oversize tote that can be flipped and carried two ways – via the top rounded handles or the flat side handle. The two handle option and the zippered outer compartment are too good of structure details to miss. Not to mention it’s one of the three one-shot pieces from this collection.

Show some LVoe and grab your copy of the latest Garage Magazine! It’s available in many newsstands in the Philippines from today.

15 Responses to “fresh mess for garage feb/mar 2010: eye of the taiga”


  1. 1 The Fashionista February 1, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I got the Sasha on friday, and I love it!

  2. 3 Eric February 1, 2010 at 2:28 pm

    Garage isn’t available here in Dakar. But i totally agree with u. The Cabas Zippé is a gorgeous piece from this collection.

  3. 5 M February 1, 2010 at 2:34 pm

    I really like the collecton, it’s kind of a Hermés -feeling over it,wich I really like.
    Don’t know if I’m able to get a bag, but the key and cahange holder is on the list, it that’s count..

    Con’s to the Fashionista! :-)

    • 6 freshmess February 1, 2010 at 2:44 pm

      Not much of an Hermes feeling to it, in my opinion. It’s a goodlooking collection, nonetheless. I’ve seen and touched the key and change holder, it’s already available at our store. Get it now! :)

      • 7 M February 1, 2010 at 2:54 pm

        No, I don’t know if Hermés was right, but it’s just something more sofisticated there, and I love Hermés so i say that about almost everythig I like :P ‘

        I’ve seen it, just havn’t had the time jet. Probably getting it on wednesday or so.. ;-)

  4. 9 deluxeduck February 1, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    dam-dam-dee-dam-da-dam-dam….

  5. 11 freshmess February 1, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    yeah, DISTURBIA! @deluxeduck @yed

  6. 12 julia February 7, 2010 at 3:11 pm

    Congratulations on the article! I think this is a LV line I’d rather see on most people. I’m so bored of the monogram and to me true luxury is having something that no one knows what it is but you. Kind of like Valextra or Loewe, you can tell it’s expensive and beautifully made but the label remains a mystery. I hope to see a few pieces floating around on men soon.

  7. 14 Cheryl Marie Cordeiro February 21, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    I love the Taiga range! I’m secretly looking at the men’s catalogue hoping to snag a buy for myself! *LOL*
    Cheryl


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


