a deviation called prada

Do you remember this?

Appearing on the Prada Men’s Spring Summer 2009 Runway together with that all-leather tote I blogged and coveted, this oversized tote had many boys a wanting. I’ve held the smaller version of this tote and the messenger bag at a store here in Oslo last summer and could not stop thinking about them since.

Then just two weeks ago right before I flew to Milan, this huge box came in the mail from Italy.

What’s inside, well I guess it’s no rocket science.

First of all, I did not expect this tote to be THIS huge! I initially thought I could use it as a day bag but it’s so roomy that it’s best as a weekender/travel tote. I’ve in fact used it on my trip to Sweden last weekend.

I absolutely love the mix of materials used on this handsome bag – the soft suede leather bottom with the embossed Prada logo, the trademark quilted nylon in a stunning navy color, and the rich leather trimmings and handles in a delicious chocolate color. The buckled strap detailing paired with brushed brass hardware give the bag a masculine seal of approval.

The roomy interior features the Prada lining, along with two large interior pockets – one that’s zippered – and top fastening. While four metal domed feet protect the base of the bag.

Since I’ve started this little bag obsession, it has always been Louis Vuitton. But this Prada tote is a welcome respite from all the monogram madness. It’s also my first Prada bag and at the look of things, would certainly not be my last.

21 Responses to “a deviation called prada”


  1. 1 m'laden November 19, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    And here I was thinking that the picture was from your new book that you were profiling, didn’t know it was going to be a reveal! Love it. Has Edward hung off the hardware yet?

  2. 3 deluxeduck November 19, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    i really like this tote. esp the contrast of nylon & suede, blue & brown. congrats!

  3. 5 00o00 November 19, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    i love it, very nice
    i wanted one for myself too but my wishlist is never ending…

  4. 7 Eric November 20, 2009 at 12:55 am

    Magnifique, il est magnifique. Superbe!!!!!

  5. 9 bagaholicboy November 20, 2009 at 9:06 am

    Lovely! Another gorgeous piece for your collection Mark!

  6. 11 ofaj November 20, 2009 at 10:47 am

    ayun naman! shoppingera kung shoppingera. ayaw paawat! haha

    maganda to. remember to Collonil the suede part so it doesn’t get dirty easily.

  7. 13 M November 20, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    As allways I’m loving what you get!
    Weary wearable also..

  8. 15 yed November 20, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    yay! may pinsan na ako. hahaha…you can say that again, the material and color combination is perfect for me as well. i don’t know if you know but the messenger bag i got was also my first prada bag too! congrats again! feeling ko by the way, you can pull it off as an everyday…

    • 16 freshmess November 20, 2009 at 9:44 pm

      I know that your messenger bag is your first Prada so we shared the same fate, yed! I absolutely love the materials and construction on both our bags. So I think we did good on our first Prada bags. Yay! I’ll try to pull it off, but really I don’t carry too much on a day-to-day basis…

  9. 17 christopher November 21, 2009 at 8:29 am

    I have this bag as well- you will love it !!!

  10. 18 christopher November 21, 2009 at 8:32 am

    oops- I forgot to mention I have edward as well and he is right at home hanging on this bag- don’t worry about silver & gold together it is perfectly fine to mix and match- people will be giving you compliments left and right !!

  11. 20 DATS November 21, 2009 at 11:09 am

    ang sarap ng buhay mmo Mark!!!!!!!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


