the glass house

I was on LV ban until Thursday night, when my SA friend surprised me with this limited piece she had been keeping for me. And I could not resist breaking the ban for this. After all, history repeats itself.

LV AFA Boxed

Last time I was on a self-imposed ban, my last purchase was the Louis Vuitton book collectible The Birth of Modern Luxury. This time around, I’m truly entering my ban state once again with Louis Vuitton: Art, Fashion and Architecturea large-format volume that is a definitive work on Louis Vuitton’s contemporary fashion, art, architecture, design and photography.

LV AFA Slipped

Apart from the critical essays written by Jill Gasparina (Art: 33 Colors), Olivier Saillard (Fashion: The Empire of Signs) and Taro Igarashi (Architecture: Learning from Louis Vuitton), the title chronicles Louis Vuitton’s esteemed collaborations with an elite group of artists, architects, designers and photographers, indexed alphabetically for easy reference. The book is filled with a lot of arresting images that represent Marc Jacobs’ time at the helm of Louis Vuitton.

LV AFA Empire of Signs

LV AFA Indexed

LV AFA Marc Jacobs Design Team

LV AFA Frank Gehry

LV AFA Devil's in the Details

LV AFA Rei Kawakubo

LV AFA Cherry Blossoms

LV AFA The Nurse

LV AFA Manila After Dark

LV AFA Oslo Boutique

It is extra special for me because the Oslo boutique is photographed (shown above with Olafur Eliasson’s Eye See You installation for Christmas 2006), where many of my LV dreams have been fulfilled. This deluxe limited edition book is designed by Takashi Murakami. It comes with an acrylic slipcase bearing the Damier pattern that’s also found in architectural details in several Louis Vuitton stores around the world. It also features Murakami’s “LV with Hands” on the cover and multicolor bookmarks.

LV AFA Murakami Hands

LV AFA Illusion

LV AFA Cased

Louis Vuitton: Art, Fashion and Architecture is available in Louis Vuitton stores worldwide and at http://www.louisvuitton.com. £90.

24 Responses to “the glass house”


  1. 1 Eric October 11, 2009 at 2:23 am

    Argh….LVoe it!! And the strips in the book remind me the rainbow flag!!!

  2. 3 Bagaholicboy October 11, 2009 at 3:06 am

    Definitely worth every cent don’t you think Mark? Ban or no ban…
    I’m still taking my time going through each and every page of mine!

  3. 5 m'laden October 11, 2009 at 5:01 am

    Love it! Had a feeling this was what you were going to reveal! Still waiting to get mine, no idea why we’re so slow in getting them. Wanted to get this in HK when I was there but they didn’t have it at the exhibition. Hope I don’t miss out again this time so fingers crossed.

    • 6 freshmess October 11, 2009 at 10:54 am

      I totally didn’t expect it. My SA friend surprised me that Jazz Club night, she didn’t wanna tell me beforehand that she got it in for me. So that was very nice! Our store is getting it in small quantities in a few installments, so it took me some time too. Hope you get yours! Fingers crossed.

  4. 7 deluxeduck October 11, 2009 at 9:19 am

    congrats Mark! its an awesome book. i hope all the future LV books would have a slip case.

  5. 11 Charles Ravndal October 11, 2009 at 1:14 pm

    Oooh i want one! That book will be one of my many sources of design inspirations. Especially I love the Superflat by Takashi Murakami

    • 12 freshmess October 11, 2009 at 1:31 pm

      It sure is! You can either get it from the Louis Vuitton store in Oslo (there’s a waitlist, unfortunately) or you can buy the commercial version (without the slip case and special Murakami cover) from Amazon UK. I suggest you also buy Murakami’s book entitled (C) Murakami if you love Superflat.

      • 13 Charles Ravndal October 11, 2009 at 4:50 pm

        Thanks for the tip. I think I’ll get the one with the special cover, but I’ll have to wait a bit since I am on shopping ban as well after getting a new dslr, a mac and a couple of design books for school in a span of a week or two. Anyway, is it possible to get online aside from Amazon?

        • 14 freshmess October 11, 2009 at 5:31 pm

          You’re most welcome dear. Call the LV Oslo store and ask to put your name on the waitlist, at least you’re on it while waiting for your ban to end. Hmmm, I don’t know any other online source for these books apart from Amazon and louisvuitton.com.

  6. 15 ofaj October 11, 2009 at 10:09 pm

    this looks interesting. I love the rainbow of ribbons. so gay. :-)

  7. 17 M October 12, 2009 at 9:49 am

    Louis Vuitton is a gay mans best friend

  8. 19 yed October 14, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    great book. i was THIS close in getting it during the jazz night but i had a limited budget and i chose the escapade. i still want the book and there are four of them last time i know here in manila…one copy i think is for display as it looked kinda used already a few days ago. hahaha…congrats! nice read. :)

  9. 21 Tom December 16, 2009 at 12:39 pm

    Hey got the same book as a present on my birthday. It didn’t come in a box though. :( Maybe I’ll ask my SA for one, he knows I’m obsessed with boxes.

  10. 23 Tom December 17, 2009 at 9:35 am

    The normal lv box. :-) I love them brown boxes.


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other subscribers

Categories