from berlin blew a greek wind

naxos_reichstag_glassdome_lores

Let’s have a closer look shall we?

naxos_reichstagreflection2_lores

As some of you know, I was in Berlin last weekend hoping to grab the Graffiti slim tie, which proved to be quite an elusive piece. It’s nowhere to be found in the city’s three LV boutiques.

While I was at the global store on Kurfürstendamm, I spotted all three Mens Spring Summer 2009 show bags from the Naxos Collection. Each one amazing with its supple leather and gorgeous colorway. But I fell in love with one (even from the time I first saw it on the runway pics), freshly shipped and it was the only one they had in Berlin at that time. It was even in the colorway I lusted for.

However, I didn’t get it right away. I had to sleep on it. And true enough, it gave me the disturbia all night long. I knew I had to come back the following day. So after darting from the LV boutique in KaDeWe, to Friedrichstrasse, and back to Kurfürstendamm, I was taken to my own little piece of the namesake island. 

I’m happy to present my very first show bag – the Cabas Naxos in Taupe

naxos_1_lores

naxos_detail_1_lores

naxos_4_lores

naxos_detail_2_lores

naxos_detail_3_lores

naxos_detail_4_lores

naxos_5_lores

I love that the side flaps could be extended outwards or tucked inwards for two varying looks. I love the oversized zipper pulls. I love the Damier pattern on the cotton llining. I love that its on the big side. I love the feel of the leather each time I brush my hand on it. I love the folded leather on the bottom of the bag and the five etched feet. 

I took it the next day to some sightseeing in Berlin. In front of the Berliner Dom.

naxos_berlinerdom_lores1

By the steps of the Reichstag building while waiting in line to get in.

naxos_reichstagsteps_lores

And under the cupola.

naxos_reichstagtop_lores

Cabas Naxos, Louis Vuitton Show Spring Summer 2009.

Inspired by a Greek island, this timeless cabas is crafted in exceptionally supple leather. Size: 17.7″ x 15.3″ x 6.3″. Naxos leather, cotton lining. Silvery brass pieces. Double zipper closure. Handheld with comfortable rounded leather handles. Also comes in white. Made in Italy.

Update: I just realized that maybe a trip to Naxos Island some time in the future is in order… Hmmm.

Related posts: Disturbia part deux  // Louis Vuitton Men Spring Summer 2009 Collection

42 Responses to “from berlin blew a greek wind”


  1. 1 Bengt February 9, 2009 at 4:00 pm

    WOWZA! Congrats Mark!

  2. 2 Bagaholicboy February 9, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    Stunning Mark, just stunning…

  3. 3 freshmess February 9, 2009 at 4:21 pm

    Thanks Bengt and Alvin! :)

  4. 4 K February 9, 2009 at 4:23 pm

    very good looking both the bag and the bearer….

    is that actually an ash color or brown?

    I’m in LVoe with that bag too.

  5. 5 Wax February 9, 2009 at 5:11 pm

    OH MY GOD. I love itttt!! It’s such a timeless piece :)

  6. 6 ofaj February 9, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    wow. ang johalia ng bag mo. but it’s very pretty. :-)

    congratulations. I love it.

  7. 7 freshmess February 9, 2009 at 6:33 pm

    @ K – you make me blush, hahaha. it’s grayish-brown, or brownish-gray. apparently, taupe is derived from the latin name of the european mole, as the color resembles its fur.

    @ Wax – thanks! i agree that it’s a timeless piece.

    @ ofaj – thanks! natawa naman ako sa term mo.

  8. 8 TGT February 9, 2009 at 8:05 pm

    Hi, very nice item !!! Tell me, is the bag floppy ? Did you stuff it to keep it standing on your pics ?? Thanks !!!

  9. 9 freshmess February 9, 2009 at 8:30 pm

    Hi TGT. No, it’s not floppy at all. It’s structured and the base is stiff so it could stay upright on its own. :)

  10. 10 00o00 February 9, 2009 at 8:32 pm

    i had a look at the bag over the weekend, the leather is really soft i am amazed.

    this is a beautiful bag, and you look very good with it. i love the color, definitely a good choice.

    i am insanely jealous!

    *hearts*

  11. 11 Joel February 9, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    What a beauty!!! Congrats!

  12. 12 TGT February 9, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Thanks Freshmess for the information ! Now I really really want this tote !! I’ve already spotted it few months ago !!

  13. 13 freshmess February 9, 2009 at 9:51 pm

    @ 00o00 – it does feel good to the touch and i am insanely in love with the color too. i think your graffiti keepall (a big congrats, again!) needs a brother, the naxos messenger perhaps? ;)

    @ Joel – thanks!

    @ TGT – you’re welcome. go get it!

  14. 15 Kevin February 10, 2009 at 1:15 am

    Amazing haul in Berlin! My dream bag this season!

    Happy purchase and a good trip to you!

    Kevin

  15. 16 biancaboo February 10, 2009 at 2:46 am

    It’s such a gorgeous bag, G! It looks perfect on you:) I had so much fun on our trip! Love ya!

  16. 17 A. Nathaniel February 10, 2009 at 8:40 am

    congratulations on the new Cabas! use it in good health :)

  17. 18 freshmess February 10, 2009 at 9:20 am

    @ deluxeduck – the moment i saw it, i knew i had to get it somehow. thank god i returned to the store!

    @ Kevin – hope you’re having a relaxing time in Hua Hin!

    @ biancaboo – thanks so much, G! I had so much fun with you and Neil, too. I was still so tired yesterday (and bits and pangs today) and I think I’ve caught some virus. Ugh.

    @ A.Nathaniel – thank you!

  18. 19 Charles Ravndal February 10, 2009 at 9:31 am

    Wonderful photos! You’re definitely working it!

  19. 21 freshmess February 10, 2009 at 10:51 am

    @ Charles – Sasha Fierce much? Hahaha!

    @ Lalaine – hello again! hope you had a nice time in the philippines. thanks for your comment.

  20. 22 Cheryl Marie Cordeiro February 10, 2009 at 11:20 am

    OMG! Mark! I’m drooling over several things here in this blog – the GORGEOUS pictures! And the just as gorgeous LV bag you have!
    Cheryl

  21. 23 freshmess February 10, 2009 at 11:26 am

    Thanks Cheryl! I should be able to upload pics from the Berlin trip this week. Just need to do some major catching up now that I’m back here in Oslo. Glad you dropped by. :)

  22. 24 RennyBA February 10, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    The first pics was artistic – kind of pitoresc! Well the others where great too – good to know you enjoy the trip.

  23. 25 freshmess February 10, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Thanks for your comment Renny!

  24. 26 paolochua February 11, 2009 at 11:25 am

    I love the black ensemble with the bag! So classy!

  25. 28 yed February 11, 2009 at 12:31 pm

    whoa. even better photos here. haha. shucks. it is super nice. i can’t stop thinking how nice it is. your photos really helped. is the leather prone to scratches or it it that kind of leather that is more resistant? since it soft and all…am just curious.

    again, congratulations!!! super nice talaga. aaaaaahhhhhh…hahaha.

  26. 29 freshmess February 11, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Hey yed! After seeing your comment on facebook, i knew I’d find you here too. LOL.

    I’m not into the whole science of leather so I don’t know if this is prone to scratches or otherwise. But here’s the thing, I accidentally scraped the side piping on a keyboard and it created runs/scratches on the leather. OUCH!!!

    I guarantee you the leather’s super soft and it feels good to the touch. This line is really nice and you should get a piece of it, too. Thanks much!

  27. 32 Eric February 11, 2009 at 10:48 pm

    Amazing !!!! The bag & The Man. Congrats for ur new LV Bag!!! It’s a very good choice.

  28. 33 freshmess February 12, 2009 at 10:11 am

    Thank you, Eric. Glad to see you around here again.

  29. 34 Ryeness February 15, 2009 at 10:28 pm

    see this is exactly why i don’t frequent your blog anymore. *sob*

  30. 35 freshmess February 16, 2009 at 8:57 am

    Come back, rye, come back!

  31. 36 Ryeness February 16, 2009 at 2:22 pm

    but, dude…

    my mouth’s already dry from salivating too much.

  32. 38 yed February 16, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    thanks for that info. :) hay, naku. ganun talaga yan. shit happens. hehehe…i so still want one!

  33. 39 freshmess February 16, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    You’re welcome, yed. And yeah, it’s actually fine by me.
    Go get one na!


  1. 1 some kind of mono: bequia, bordeaux « fresh mess Trackback on August 24, 2009 at 6:27 pm
  2. 2 some kind of mono: macassar « fresh mess Trackback on September 3, 2009 at 8:15 pm
  3. 3 i die: porte-documents voyage in naxos leather « fresh mess Trackback on March 4, 2010 at 4:51 pm

Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


