happy birthday knut!

peachmelbacake.jpg

For Knut’s birthday last Saturday, I made him a peach melba birthday cake. It’s the very first cake I have ever made in my life! And I realized afterwards how fun it was to make a cake.

I was inspired by one of the cakes made my Zocalo when he was still living here in Norway. I decided to buy a ready-made sponge cake with three layers, and filled the insides with vanilla cream, whipped cream and peach slices. I topped the cake with some more peaches and lots of fresh blueberries. I love blueberries!

Surprisingly, it tasted good – like creamy good, and all our guests were satisfied. And it sure was a fun night, with great food – we made tapas including Knut’s signature patatas bravas, lots of drinks, nonstop music, and great friends (plus a stranger or two) for company.

Gratulerer med dagen!

25 Responses to “happy birthday knut!”


  1. 1 tricia April 2, 2008 at 1:41 am

    hey………yum yum..ang sarap nyan ah!!!!!!!!!!!!!! belated happy birthday to knut…kahit di nya ako kilala. haha.

    friend, you should check out my new posts….haha.

    anyways, i was looking at some of the blogs in your blogroll…and i cam across one that had this pic of a guy from sean cody…hahahaha…nalala ko tuloy yung mgamovies mo sa ipod mo!!! shocks…i can still picture myself sitting by your cubicle watching your latest videos….bwahaha. ka-miss.

    by the way, since jane is getting married in may3 in hawaii, she had asked me to help her out during the welcome luau and the wedding day itself…so i agreed…wedding coordinator ang pota! haha. good timing, kasi the next day, birthday ko na! i asked jason to come with me, kaya lang yung original plan nya was to go to vegas that weekend, eh since im gonna go na nga to hawaii, will just go to vegas the following weekend after my birthday. pero, he wont be able to go with me to hawaii….sayang…parang honeymoon ko na rin sana…hahaha!

    youll see him in my new posts. then let me know what you think. haha.

  2. 2 Benz April 2, 2008 at 3:29 am

    You made that cake?!??!?! IMPRESSIVE! Yummy… Btw, I love your new banner. :)

  3. 3 Misterhubs April 2, 2008 at 6:00 am

    Damn I want some of that!

    (Licks the computer monitor)

  4. 4 Shigeki April 2, 2008 at 6:05 am

    Wow, what a talented patissier you are! Someone should invent a technology to ship that via e-mail :)

  5. 5 dazedblu April 2, 2008 at 8:15 am

    I absolutely agree it really looks yummy!

  6. 6 zocalo April 2, 2008 at 10:09 am

    LOL oh my, here I was thinking “That biatch better give me his recipe” but disappointed to find out that you cheated by buy ready-made cakes! Well, I’m honored that my cake inspired you at least and happy that your guests enjoyed the cake.

    I think as gratitude, you need to lend me Knut for a few hours :) *lol*

  7. 7 tricia April 2, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    heller…heller…well, ya, hes not bad looking. hehe. i love his eyes, ang haba ng eyelashes (upper and lower…at talagang naka curl, naturally)…hes tall (6’1″…more or less)…mabait, ya…very touchy-feely…haha…will kiss ur head, forehead, cheek, hand, leg, back, lower back, etc….very gently…well, yung comment mo na hes the type na parang iuuntog ang ulo mo sa headboard, ahem, di naman, not literally…kasi he’ll make sure na nasa gitna ka ng kama…haha…pero at the same time, yes, maloloka ka (alam mo na ibig sabihin nyan). sweet naman, eh. medyo hagard nga lang, kasi binabantayan nya yung pusa nyang may sakit…eh, yung cat, is the most important thing in his life right now…waaahh…and hes busy working on his business at home…so medyo, we dont c each other now regularly (since he doesnt work na rin dito sa office sa building)…so once he sets up all the sites that hes working on, and work gets a bit lighter, hopefully, we’ll see each other often again.

    so….wish me luck with this one. and wish me luck also with my work visa that i just filed for thsi week.

    miss ya.

  8. 8 freshmess April 2, 2008 at 11:13 pm

    Hey Trish, aba syempre alam na ng mga readers ko ang love story mo. Hahaha! Not bad looking ka dyan! Gwapo kaya!!! Well yeah, I wish you the best on this one. :) Excited for you, in fact! Yeah, so bad I can’t go to Hawaii for Jane’s wedding. I actually dreamt that I was going to her wedding, but somehow, I ended up in Prague. Hahaha! Oh well. Advanced happy birthday Trish!

    Thanks, Benz! It’s from my Opera photo-series.

    Lick me, too, Misterhubs? Haha!

    Thanks, Shigeki! That’s a nice thought. I like the way you think. :)

    Thanks, dazedblu!

    Hahaha, zocalo! I’m not THAT good to make my own cake. Hehe. Exchange with B*? Kidding!

  9. 9 Chase Ravndal April 3, 2008 at 4:27 am

    Gratulerer med dagen Knut! Åååå denne kaken ser deilig ut!

    It is indeed fun to make cakes. I’ll resume with my baking once I am back home in Norway. Hope to see you both dahling!

  10. 10 Ryeness April 3, 2008 at 6:40 am

    i want the recipe!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. 11 freshmess April 3, 2008 at 1:16 pm

    Takk for hilsen, Chase! Oooh, I have to taste your cake! Your wedding cake. Hehe.

    With a ready-made three-layer cake base, it’s easy. Ryeness! Just place peaches and vanilla cream in between the layers. and make your own whipped cream with some boxed Nestle Cream and sugar. Then decorate to your heart’s content. :) Voila!

  12. 12 Chase Ravndal April 4, 2008 at 12:36 am

    Yes since I will invite you guys soon. Btw, what do you think of my blog look now that I changed the background into white? Is it much better?

  13. 13 freshmess April 4, 2008 at 1:55 am

    Thanks in advance, Chase!

  14. 14 freshmess April 4, 2008 at 1:55 am

    And oh, like what I posted in your blog, I liked the colored background version better. :)

  15. 15 zocalo April 4, 2008 at 6:34 am

    exchange with B* hahaha…nei! i take both of them!

  16. 16 Ryeness April 4, 2008 at 4:42 pm

    got it, thanks! nutrition facts? :-)

  17. 17 Kuya Alfred April 4, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Happy Birthday Knut! Punta ka din dito Manila (let mark translate that for you). :)

  18. 18 RennyBA April 5, 2008 at 12:23 am

    Sooooooooooo sorry I’m Late! But from all of me and Diane, please give our greetings to Knut! You are both very special to us as I suppose we are special among your visitors who actually have had the pleasure of having you as a guest in our house.

    Have a fun and great weekend together!

  19. 19 Moja April 5, 2008 at 4:11 am

    Happy Birthday Knut!!! =)

    Nakakagutom tuloy… (buntis here.. hehe )

  20. 20 r*yan April 5, 2008 at 1:29 pm

    Panalo yun cake mo, Mark! Cgurado borchogz lahat.

    It’s great being creative in a culinary way, isn’t it? I’ve been on a cooking binge as well. Every night is a dinner party at mine. :)

    Belated happy burpday, Knut!

  21. 21 freshmess April 5, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    @ zocalo – greedy much? hehehe!

    @ ryeness – lots o’ fats and sugar, hahaha! the blueberries are good antioxidants, though, with vitamins c and e. :)

    @ bro – thanks! gusto nga din namin pumunta ng palawan e. :)

    @ renny – thanks sooo much renny and diane! it was a pleasure visiting your home. have a nice family weekend!

    @ moja – thanks!!! how’s the pregnancy going? very good and healthy, i hope. :)

    @ r*yan – nagulat nga din ako e, panalo talaga! haha! borchogz kung borchogz. :D i like cooking, and even more so, plating the food. it lets out creative juices.

    thanks for all the greeting!

  22. 22 sardonicnell April 7, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    beautiful cake, i’m sure it taste delish as well ;)

  23. 24 yed April 12, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    your picture quality really is so good. what camera do you use? if you don’t mind me asking…

  24. 25 freshmess April 12, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    @ yed – i’m using panasonic lumix DMC TZ1. :)


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


