hot ticket: gwen stefani the sweet escape tour

1.jpg

Knut and I had the most amazing 90 minutes last Tuesday night when Gwen Stefani performed in front (and among – later on that) of a thundering audience at a full-house Oslo Spektrum for her Norwegian leg of The Sweet Escape Tour.

I was singing all throughout the concert, from the opener Sweet Escape through to a slew of my favorite songs like 4 in the Morning, Early Winter, Rich Girl, Wonderful Life, Wind It Up, and The Real Thing. The stage, the video sequences, and the costumes reeked of Gwen’s style and sass. There were bits that reminded me of Madonna’s Drowned World Tour, and I’m not saying that’s bad. After all, Gwen Stefani could very well be the next Madonna, imo.

Some of the highlights of the night include Gwen reaching out for a mobile phone from one of the girls by the stage to take her picture with the audience in the background (see pic below), Gwen repeatedly saying how “delicious” and “extremely cute, it’s disgusting” Norwegians are, and that memorable moment when she sang the song Cool.

From the stage, she went into the crowd, climbed up to the bleachers, and sang her way from one end of the arena to the other, where she came as close as 6 meters away from where I was seated. It was so surreal, watching her climb over the hurdles, passing through the ever-cheering crowd, and ending at a spot very near where I was. That was a total OMG moment!

Okay, enough with the talk, here are some photos from the concert, taken with my cool super-zoom camera. I’ve also filmed her performances of 4 in the Morning, Cool, The Real Thing but I will post them when I’m done uploading to YouTube. I also filmed the Wind It Up sequence, but I accidentally deleted the clip from my camera. Darn.

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

4a.jpg

4b.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

10.jpg

11 Responses to “hot ticket: gwen stefani the sweet escape tour”


  1. 1 the iLocano blogger October 11, 2007 at 11:12 am

    hmm, napansin ko puti singkit ang mga dancers niyang gurls. anyway, nagconcert rin siya dto nitong hule, somwhere in asia. kalimutan ko na ksi.

  2. 2 Shigeki October 11, 2007 at 2:09 pm

    were Harajuku Girl Backdancers weird as always? Her obsession with Japanese stuff is kinda turn off for me but her music is still good :-) I am glad you guys enjoyed it!~

  3. 3 subcon October 11, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    Nice review! It seems you had an amazing time. I posted a link to your blog on the official ND forum. Hope you don’t mind. : )

    http://forums.nodoubt.com/forums/1240057/ShowPost.aspx#1240057

  4. 4 freshmess October 12, 2007 at 7:39 pm

    That’s her Harajuku Girls, theIlocanoblogger. :)

    I didn’t find them weird, Shigeki. Three of the girls are from Japan (Osaka, Tokyo, Okinawa) and one’s from LA. I’m glad you dig her music, too.

    Thanks so much for the link, subcon! I don’t mind at all. :) All for Gwen.

  5. 5 dazedblu October 16, 2007 at 1:39 pm

    wow, that was a nice concert! seesm gwen didn’t drop at least night in Manila, anyways regarding with concert.. I’m looking forward to see Beyonce this November, whoo ;o

  6. 6 Mark October 16, 2007 at 7:21 pm

    I dont think she had an asian tour, dazedblu… have fun in the beyonce concert!

  7. 7 Joshua October 17, 2007 at 10:04 pm

    I am bummed that I missed out on Gwen’s tour when she was down in Melbourne. I bought tix for Christina instead, and well, she ended up cancelling all her shows. Pooh.

    Great review, as always, and fantastic photos.

  8. 8 Mark October 17, 2007 at 10:42 pm

    Sorry that you didn’t get to see Gwen. It was really a must-see. And same goes to Christina, too. Hope you got a refund? Thanks to my cam’s super zoom, I was able to capture these images all the way up from the bleachers. :)

  9. 9 rOckY October 19, 2007 at 4:36 pm

    I am beyond green with envy! My partner and I sooo want to see her in concert.

    Oh well, that time will come soon enough. I hope =P

  10. 10 freshmess October 20, 2007 at 6:33 pm

    Hey Rocky, I’m sure you’ll get to see her too. :) Thanks for dropping by!

  11. 11 Courtnie December 6, 2007 at 9:06 am

    WOAHH
    your camera is awesome.
    yeah her concert was amazing ay, i was so excited that she actually came to australia since not many big name artists do but yeah
    it was wicked :]


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


