wenche foss at the national theatre

Queen Sonja of Norway today unveiled the statue of soon-90-year-old Wenche Foss, a leading Norwegian actress of stage, screen and television and touted as Norway’s only diva, in front of the National Theatre. Her career spans eight decades.

wenche foss statue

We provided the flower arrangement for this noteworthy event and I did this small arrangement made with two red passion roses and an aspidistria leaf, which surrounded the event venue and the special area where the Queen and other VIP guests sat during the ceremony.

nationaltheatret-wenche-foss.jpg

I like the effect I achieved by making everything but the flower arrangement in greyscale. Maybe I should have blurred the background a lil’ bit?

Wenche Foss Statue photo by Stian Lysberg Solum/Scanpix

10 Responses to “wenche foss at the national theatre”


  1. 1 MOGLI September 20, 2007 at 12:20 am

    nej, nej, this is just perfect! blurring the background would just overkill the focus on the object, i think. besides that fountain is really cool as not to be seen. btw, how do you find the nightlife in Oslo?

  2. 2 freshmess September 20, 2007 at 12:28 am

    You are so right about that, Mogli. Thanks for the nice words! :)

    Well, nightlife in Oslo is ok but I can’t qualify the entire nightlife range as that since I only go to two clubs. Sometimes three when the seasonal Fire @ Stratos club is open.

    It’s interesting that people throw pre-clubbing and post-clubbing parties at home since it’s cheaper to drink booze and get drunk before hitting the bars (for some more drinking shenanigans). And the creatures of Oslo’s streets are quite funny to watch in the wee hours of weekends. Norwegians are ALL crazy when drunk!

  3. 3 Joshua September 20, 2007 at 12:53 pm

    I love the greyscale and colour contrast. Nice work, Mark. Did you use Photoshop or Corel? You ought to do one with you in it.

    Oh, and thanks for linking me.

    J.

  4. 4 Mark September 20, 2007 at 5:59 pm

    Nice to see you here, Joshua. And thanks for the compliment. I used this software called Photo Impression, it came bundled with my digicam softwares. But I used the same method as I would in Photoshop. I actually did one, with me sitting on that phallic pole (but all poles are phallic!) in Amsterdam. I made everything grey, incl. me, but the umbrella I was holding and the pole I was sitting on RED. I posted the original one in a previous entry, but kept the photoshopped in my files. :) Maybe I’ll post it someday. Hehe.

  5. 5 Shigeki September 20, 2007 at 7:35 pm

    Very pretty but that photo made me feel a little chilly for some reason. Am I reading too much into it?

  6. 6 Mark September 20, 2007 at 9:21 pm

    Hello Shigeki! Glad to have you back… Chilly as in seeing-ghosts-chilly or you-wanna-get-cozy-chilly? :)

  7. 7 Paul September 22, 2007 at 1:06 pm

    The flowers look amazing. Daring red and yet classy.

  8. 8 Mark September 22, 2007 at 5:30 pm

    Thanks, Paul! Have a nice weekend! Try to let go of Link for me, for a while. Lol.

  9. 9 RennyBA September 22, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    I noticed this ceremony on TV of course and Wenke really deserves it. Didn’t know you made this lovely flower though – so beautiful!
    Wishing you a wonderful weekend :D

  10. 10 freshmess September 23, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    I just feel it’s weird that a living person has a statue erected for him/her. Well, that’s just me… :) Thanks for the nice words, Renny! Wishing you a nice week ahead!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


