phalaenopsis

“Phalaenopsis”, 2007, acrylic on canvas

I did my very first adult painting yesterday, which I titled “Phalaenopsis”. Phalaenopsis is a genus of approximately 60 species of orchids, named so because the flowers supposedly resemble moths (Phalaena) in flight. For this reason, Phalaenopsis is sometimes called Moth Orchids.

My fascination with Phalaenopsis started not so long ago, when I purchased my very first plant, a Phalaenopsis Aphrodite. It lost all its flowers a couple of months later and I decided to just throw away the plant. I bought a new plant one month ago and placed it in the living room, where it seems to be enjoying its stay for now. The plant is in full bloom and like the moths that it was named after, the flowers are still very much in flight.

9 Responses to “phalaenopsis”


  1. 1 Fendi August 12, 2007 at 3:03 pm

    now at last you have done something else than strutting and swagging your arese around the world!

    Fabulous! Sell it on Ebay! ;)

    Kiss
    Fendi

  2. 2 RennyBA August 12, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    Woow, didn’t know you where a talented painter too – this is great art Mark!

  3. 3 pepe M. August 13, 2007 at 8:35 am

    now a painter and a jetsetter!
    take that! nice painting! i loveee it!

  4. 4 savante August 13, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    That can be your new banner!

  5. 5 kevin August 13, 2007 at 2:24 pm

    Nice hidden talent you have there mark. You must have painted before?! It’s a masterpiece.

    Wishing you a great start to your week in Scandinavia.

    Kev in NZ

  6. 6 Kiss My Mike August 13, 2007 at 3:18 pm

    hey mark,

    excellent work…

    ~mike

  7. 7 dazedblu* August 14, 2007 at 12:01 pm

    Hey that was a nice creation ;)

  8. 8 chase August 15, 2007 at 12:58 pm

    Nice painting Mark! And I will update my links area later.

  9. 9 RennyBA August 16, 2007 at 10:25 am

    Hello again – just here to tell you I wasn’t aware of that you had migrated to WP too – my blogroll is updated now (thanks for keeping me on yours:-)


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


