on the way to manila


In less than five months, I will be back in Manila for a month-long holiday!

I booked my tickets today at a Filipino travel agency and the owner was just quirky and cute for a lady in her 40s. I’m leaving Oslo 3rd of December and travelling with Scandinavian Air and Singapore Airlines via Oslo-Amsterdam-Singapore-Manila. The only available return flight I snagged with Singapore Air is on January 1 via Manila-Singapore-Zurich-Oslo. Good thing the flight leaves Manila at 6PM, so I have enough daytime to spend with my family after ringing in the new year.

Too bad I won’t be able to go out into any of my stopover cities since I only have a 3.5-hour maximum layover in Singapore, Amsterdam and Zurich. Just enough time to use the free internet in Changi, have coffee in Schiphol, and maybe buy some fine chocolates in Zurich.

I’m stoked I can sing “Manila, Manila, I keep coming back to Manila. Simply there’s no place like Manila. Manila I’m coming home!”

Photo by Iron Goddess.

10 Responses to “on the way to manila”


  1. 1 RennyBA July 18, 2007 at 10:26 pm

    I’m happy for you and glad to hear you are able to go home for a visit!

    When I was in Australia i 1996, we went by Singapore Airlines and it was great. I’m sure you’ll have a great trip:-)

  2. 2 zocalo July 19, 2007 at 2:47 am

    i would love to visit philippines one day…as it seems that several of my readers are from there! :) and i’ve heard good things about tourism there. But i wonder how Manila compares to other Asian urban cities. I haven’t traveled much in Asia, but I would imagine Manila is quite similar to say Taipei, Seoul, no?

  3. 3 dazedblu* July 19, 2007 at 10:15 am

    hey that’s for you, i hope the comming home will be great for you. ;)

  4. 4 Mark July 21, 2007 at 12:49 am

    Thanks, Renny! Can’t wait. And some of my friends from Norway might visit Manila, too, while I’m there. :)

    Well I haven’t been to either, zocalo, but you should just go to see for yourself. The Philippines is a good juxtaposition of the excessive riches and the poorest of the poor, but I guess that’s a cliche in most Asian capitals. We have nice beaches, fabulous shopping, and pretty boys. That I can tell. :)

    Thanks, dazedblu! I’m sure it will be. :)

  5. 5 R*Y A N July 24, 2007 at 4:16 am

    do you realise… we’ll be in the philippines at the same time!?!

  6. 6 Fendi July 25, 2007 at 1:47 pm

    Hej MArk, I will be in Manila this October ;)
    Maybe if we have chance to hangout together! :)

    Kiss
    Fendi

  7. 7 Mark July 28, 2007 at 11:43 pm

    Gah! Can’t wait to meet you, R*yan!!! :)))

    Hey Fendi, I’ll be in Manila in December. :((( Too bad we can’t meet up. Maybe when I go to Malmo someday? :)

  8. 8 captain lifecruiser August 7, 2007 at 9:40 pm

    OH, we almost managed to get to Manila in 2005.I say almost, because the flight tickets were already booked when – both of us- were got by Pneumonia (what’s the odds of that?!!) and then the Tsunami came too, so we cancelled our tickets afraid of more diseases.

    You see, we were supposed to go for 2 weeks to Malaysia first, just the coastline that were hit. After that we planned to go to Manila and then Mindoro and Boracay because friends of ours go there every year. They tell us fabulous things about the Philippines.

    We’ll see if we ever make it there… What I’ve seen in photos is impressive anyway :-)

  9. 9 Mark August 10, 2007 at 3:34 pm

    You should definitely go to Manila Capt. Lifecruiser. But if you want the beachlife, you have to go to Boracay and Bohol. :)

  10. 10 kuala Lumpur to singapore September 26, 2014 at 10:04 pm

    I read this paragraph completely on the topic of the comparison of hottest and previous technologies, it’s awesome article.


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


