adobo: the pinoy national dish


Since it’s the national day of the Philippines today (well, technically the Independence Day), I decided to make a Filipino dish. In fact, I made what is perhaps the most famous Filipino dish, officially or unofficially known as the national dish of the Philippines – the adobo.

It was my first time to make the dish and was very impressed with the result. With a recipe transmitted over a phone call with my mom this afternoon, I bought all the ingredients needed:

4 pieces of chicken leg
soy sauce
white vinegar
bay leaf
garlic
whole black peppercorn
Basically, I threw in all the ingredients except the vinegar in a pot and let them simmer until much of the water has evaporated and the chicken has achieved its most tender state. I added the vinegar, and a dash of sugar, towards the end of the cooking time. What’s nice about making this dish is you don’t follow strict amounts of ingredients. You make it taste the way you want it to taste. I wanted mine a little salty and a little tart.

The only thing I regret is not putting in extra chicken pieces, because this dish tastes even better on the second or the third day after. Next time, a big batch is in order.

6 Responses to “adobo: the pinoy national dish”


  1. 1 dazedblu* June 13, 2007 at 9:21 am

    whew! i think it’s nice reading your blog is worth relaxing, hopefully i have more time to read out those entries.

    a pinoy dish you made that’s kewl i think, so how was taste? it’s pretty dif throwing the vinegar a the end of it’s cooking.

  2. 2 Shigeki June 13, 2007 at 5:23 pm

    Since I was driving, I missed my lunch today and I am super hungry after seeing your post!!! I hope you had a nice meal moment! Happy Day!

  3. 3 Mark June 14, 2007 at 11:02 pm

    Thanks for visiting, dazedblu*! It tasted like heaven! Hehehe.

    Thanks, Shigeki! You know you shouldn’t skip your meals. Maybe you should find your pretty husband who could cook for you. :)

  4. 4 R*Y A N June 26, 2007 at 8:46 am

    i love love love chicken adobo. the only dish i’d eat with vinegar in it.

    mum makes a halo-halo version of adobo: pork, beef and, of course, chicken.

    yum!

  5. 5 Mark June 27, 2007 at 11:27 pm

    Hmm that sounds delish, R*yan! I am so proud I can now make adobo. Hehehe.

  6. 6 Eric Ackerson January 15, 2010 at 2:35 am

    I enjoyed the post and nice photos! I am writing a blog where I cook every national dish on the planet in 365 days. My blog generated a link to your posting and here I am. Just added you on twitter. Looking forward to the phillipines and Adobo in a few months(alphabetical list. Keep it up…

    Cheers,
    Eric
    http://www.myhungrytum.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


