starbucks cometh

Okay, my life has spiralled back to the normal routine and there’s really nothing much to blog about. Well, at least not until the next couple of days. Anyway, I found these bottled Starbucks drinks recently, and as you know, not a single Starbucks store can be found here in Norway so I just had to grab them.


My god they’re freaking expensive! A bottle costs 39 kroner = 6.45 USD = 4.81 Euros! Now I know Starbucks ain’t the best brew out there but with that money, I could already buy two freshly-brewed and whipped-cream-topped Venti Frappuccinos in one of the many Starbucks stores in Manila. I guess I won’t be having any more Starbucks fix here in Norway soon. But is this the start of Starbucks invading the Nordic countries? If I have the money, I would open the first Starbucks store here. I’m sure it’d be a big hit, what with Norwegians being one of, if not the biggest coffee drinkers in Europe. Hmmm…

4 Responses to “starbucks cometh”


  1. 1 Shigeki May 24, 2007 at 4:00 am

    I hear Denmark has a lot of good cafes and they don’t need Starbucks as their cafes are so sophisticated is what I heard and there is Danish cafe here which has the best awarded Barista. Interesting because Norwegian don’t much drink coffee? Do they prefer tea instead?

    Another interesting thing is that “Frappuccino” bottled drink is not widely available here in Tokyo even though there is a starbucks store every block :-) I think it’s because that’s too sweet for us? I dunno. :-)

  2. 2 chase May 26, 2007 at 12:53 am

    I noticed it that there are no Starbucks indeed in Norway. But who needs Starbucks when you have those cozy cafes dotting in every corner

  3. 3 ate dai May 28, 2007 at 1:08 pm

    Hey cuz, i got those starbucks “bottled” drinks, too… funny but i bought it from 7-11 in Taipe (they’re not available from starbucks stores there ;-)

  4. 4 Mark May 29, 2007 at 11:11 pm

    Well, I didn’t get to try any Danish coffeeshop while I was in Copenhagen. Maybe next time, Shigeki. Norwegians are surprisingly, actually big coffee drinkers. Some recent study saw them on top of the list in terms of coffee consumption.

    Well Chase, sometimes, I just miss the Starbucks in Manila. And well, the company I go there with.

    Oh so they’re available in Taipei, too? Do they sell that in Manila as well? Miss ya Ate Dai!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


