hello from helsinki: camwhoring in the city

I’m so glad you all liked my photos from Helsinki. I have more to share, now that I got my laptop up and running again. You see, I left my laptop charger in the hotel room last Sunday and fortunately, Holiday Inn found it. Here’s the last installment of photos from my trip to the land of thousand lakes.

The Second Day
I noticed that Helsinki must be a land of thousand hills, too. The roads all over the city are warped like this one pictured here.


This was taken from Esplanadi Park, site of the Europe Market that showcased each participating country’s culture, wares and tourism. On the periphery of the park are two of the most exclusive shopping lanes in the city. One of which serves as the stellar address of Kamp Hotel, probably the poshest hotel Helsinki has to offer.


This was taken in front of the EuroClub, the Eurovision Song Contest’s official site for parties and events, located at the Old Student House.


The Market Square is one of Helsinki’s most famous market places and tourist attractions. It was brimming with stalls selling various wares – from the must-try fried Baltic herring to reindeer hide. At the background, you can see the other iconic cathedral in Helsinki – Uspenski Cathedral – which looks very Russian.


The Third Day
In the morning, we met Ola Salo of The Ark, which represented Sweden. We saw them outside their hotel, a neighbor to ours. God I’m such a cheesy fan!


The rest of the day was spent shopping and trying out the world-famous Fazer chocolates of Finland. I looked at Stockmann, one of Finland’s largest department stores, but got nothing. I moved to Moda where I found an Esprit collared short-sleeved shirt and to the big Diesel store where I got a nice white summer tee.


Afterwards, we spent a cozy afternoon at the Karl Fazer Cafe, built in 1891, where I had these citrus-flavored mousse and sponge cake and a specially-made Eurovision cake with chocolate and white truffle layers.

That night, after six months of waiting we finally found our way to the Hartwall Arena where the Eurovision finals was staged. I was impressed with how everything – from getting tickets for the train ride to the security check at the arena – went smoothly.


I was also impressed with the show, well at least from the performances we heard inside Hartwall. When I saw a short replay on TV the day after, I wasn’t so impressed with the vocals of some artists. Anyway, I was happy with the winner Serbia, as well as with Ukraine’s and Russia’s second and third placings respectively. The Ukraine act was so crazy everybody inside the arena was dancing and jumping to him. Of course, my crushes also fared nicely in the competition – Belarus, Spain, Greece, and Turkey. I took around 300 photos of the show from where we were seated, but unfortunately, most of them were blurry due to the slow shutter response of my cam, my distance from the stage and the performers’ constant movement.

Back home, but wait!
We flew back to Oslo last Sunday from the Helsinki Vantaa Airport, and while waiting for the boarding time, we strolled around and saw a couple of artists – Croatia’s duo (which were so horrible in the semi-finals) and Germany’s Roger Cicero who was doing an ambush interview. Of course, since he’s a cutie, I had to take my photo taken with him. And you know how I love guys who can swing. Le sigh.


That’s it! I hope you enjoyed my adventures in Helsinki. Thanks for dropping by!

4 Responses to “hello from helsinki: camwhoring in the city”


  1. 1 kevin May 17, 2007 at 11:58 am

    Mark,
    I am so so so impressed with the pics. You were so lucky to get your pic taken with The Ark and Roger Cicero of Germany. I feel like i have been to Eurovision with you! Thankyou for posting them.
    You look so smart in front of the Hartwell Arena. Im sure you have got a lot of happy memories of Helsinki. Next year you will have to go to Serbia!?

    The idea of the Eurovision cake with layers of white truffle sounds so nice. Because the contest wasnt available in NZ and because i have a slow connection and cant get to watch it on the internet i’m planning to buy the CD or DVD of the show. Im off to google it.

    Love and hugs,
    Kev in NZ

  2. 2 Free May 17, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    Ayos Mark, seems like you’re halfway ’round the world. Maybe we should collaborate on my dream coffeetable book 5 years from now:)hahahaha! you’re a thousand steps ahead! Take care.

    Free

  3. 3 Anonymous May 20, 2007 at 7:11 am

    UGH, you are so lucky to have met Roger Cicero!

    I’m American, so that means I couldn’t have voted- but if I was able to, I’d vote for Roger Cicero over and over!

  4. 4 Mark May 20, 2007 at 5:05 pm

    I guess I’ve just been lucky to bump into these guys, Kev. It was my first time with Eurovision and it was so much more than what I could ask for. I have lots of happy memories from Helsinki. It’s a fantastic city. But I don’t think I’ll be in Serbia next year. Maybe you should, then you can give a full report. We’re definitely buying the DVD too! And I’m listening to the CD as I’m typing this. :)

    Hey Frances! What’s this coffeetable book about? Let’s talk. Miss ya lots and take care!

    Hello Anonymous! I actually saw him initially but brushed it off since I was thinking it could have been any other Eurovision fan wearing the same outfit as Roger’s. But then he walked past me and saw that it was really him! Lucky me. :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


