hello from helsinki: the cathedral on senate square

One of the highlights of my second-day exploration of Helsinki is the majestic Cathedral overlooking the Senate Square. At any time of the day, the Cathedral casts an impression that lingers long after you’ve stared at its splendor or sat on its steps and stared out into the horizon with the occassional cruise ship breaking the skyline. In the light of day, the Cathedral blinds you with its pristine white facade. At night, the Cathedral glows against the blanket of darkness.

8 Responses to “hello from helsinki: the cathedral on senate square”


  1. 1 Shigeki May 14, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Since Eurovision thingies showed a lot of snow, I coulnd’t really see what Finland is like :-) Your photos helped me see it. Thanks for sharing.

    I hope you had a great eurovision weekend. Who was your favorite? I like Russia or the male host best :-)

  2. 2 savante May 15, 2007 at 9:29 am

    Hey, I was there :) And you can buy cute matrushka dolls close by the cathedral.

  3. 3 Mark May 15, 2007 at 9:35 pm

    Yeah Shigeki, they probably shot those postcards during the winter time. I have other photos taken from Helsinki but they’re in my laptop and I forgot my charger in the hotel. Waiting for it now… I liked Belarus, Serbia, France, Russia, and Ukraine! Yes, that crazy drag act! Love her! And Mikko is so delicious! Hahaha!

    You were there, Paul?!?!? Oh my god! We should have met each other! Yeah, they’re cute. And some were so exquisitely designed.

  4. 4 Fendi May 16, 2007 at 12:02 am

    I have been there three years ago.
    Where did you go after the EVS?

    Kiss
    Fendi

  5. 5 kevin May 16, 2007 at 11:43 am

    The pictures of Finland are awesome. They are so clear. I had no idea what Finland looked like but now i do so thanks for that.

    It sounds like you had such a fun time. I am a little shocked about the result though. I am really shocked that Norway didnt get to the finals at least.

    I hope you are safely back from your journey.

    Kev in NZ

  6. 6 NeiLDC May 16, 2007 at 10:45 pm

    I envy you mark!! you saw,sarbel and mikko!!!and D NASH… huhu!!

  7. 7 Mark May 17, 2007 at 3:07 am

    Hmmm…. Just back to the hotel, Fendi. The show ended up sooo late and we had to wake up early the next morning to catch our flight.

    Thanks, kevin! Well, it was ok even though Norway didn’t make it to the Finals. I’m happy with the winner, anyway. Too bad I didn’t get to twave the flag for Norway though.

    Yes, Neil! I love love love Mikko! He is so darn cute!

  8. 8 R*Y A N June 6, 2007 at 11:57 pm

    really lovely photos, mark.

    what camera did you use to take them?


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


