my name’s aphrodite


Last Monday, after a week of researching about growing and caring for it, I decided to bring home an orchid plant. Among the varied potted orchids in the shop, I picked up this dazzling white beauty. I think she looks very pretty. Very simple, yet very sexy. I named her Aphrodite, because that’s what her breed is, a Phalaenopsis Aphrodite. And incidentally, she comes from the Philippines.

Now growing orchids seems to be a daunting task, like a mother nursing her child to perfection. They need the right lighting, humidity, and watering. That’s why the research. And I also joined a forum group for orchid-growers. Their orchids are so beautiful! Makes me wanna raise some more. But I’ll struggle with Aphrodite first. Who knows, she might get a sister or two when I’ve proven to be a rearing mama.

And oh, since last Monday, Aphrodite has bloomed two more flowers. I was very excited watching each day as the buds slowly and silently bloom into dazzling white flowers. That must be the silent thrill mothers get when they first see their baby. Ah, sweet sweet life.

6 Responses to “my name’s aphrodite”


  1. 1 Dennis March 23, 2007 at 2:42 am

    I had a friend in high school who took care of orchids. I always admired her dedication to it. They’re even more fragile than a live animal because it seems like there’s a million things that can go wrong.

    Good luck!

  2. 2 kevin March 23, 2007 at 11:41 am

    May you have lots of orchid children and may they all grow up successfully!

    Wishing you a great weekend in Norway.

    Kev in NZ

  3. 3 NeiLDC March 23, 2007 at 3:17 pm

    so she was called Aprodite!! where is PARIS anyway, what flower would you put the named PARIS?

    anyway. I love roses as well… do u have anthurium?

    kisses
    neil

  4. 4 Shigeki March 24, 2007 at 5:44 am

    Yup, they are very uptight :-) They can be bitchy every once in a while but I guess that’s just how they are. I am not allowed to have those as I could easily kill them. :-( Good luck!

  5. 5 Lyka Bergen March 25, 2007 at 12:08 am

    I hope your White Pinoy Aphrodite lasts.

    Good Luck!

  6. 6 jun.anteola April 24, 2007 at 12:04 pm

    simple/sexy:coy/flirtatious
    very Filipina. hehehe.
    i didn’t realize i am on your blogroll, i am much obliged to reciprocate the favor. thanks. :-)


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


