from kinsella to murakami

I haven’t been blogging lately because really, there are some things I just wanted to keep to myself. Even thought of shutting down this blog because I have come to a point where I self-censor, keeping drafts instead of hitting that publish button, which I think loses the essence of publishing one’s thoughts and experiences in the first place. Well, I’m feeling better now.

Much better that I got two books today. One I ordered from Amazon, the other bought for me by Knut. The fifth installment to the hit Shopaholic series of Sophie Kinsella, Shopaholic & Baby follows the life of Becky Bloomwood who is now expecting a new baby – all the more reason to raid more shops and lug around those carrier bags, from designer nursery to the latest, coolest pram, and oh, to the celebrity, must-have obstetrician. Of course, her seemingly perfect world starts to crumble when the celebrity obstetrician turns out to be her husband’s glamorous, intellectual ex-girlfriend. Okay, the book doesn’t tackle politics nor philosophy, but hey, a girl guy just want to have fun.


On the other end of the spectrum (totally!), Knut got me Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami. I haven’t heard or read anything about Murakami but if The New York Times hails Murakami as being “on the course to becoming the most widely read Japanese writer outside Japan, past or present,” then it must be good.


And oh, the cover looks so cute.

7 Responses to “from kinsella to murakami”


  1. 1 zocalo March 13, 2007 at 3:01 am

    I also self-censor a lot on my blog, but the great thing about LiveJournal is that you can create as many filters as you want! These filters essentially act as security measures allowing different people to see different entries. The only requirement is that the viewer must be a registered LiveJournal user. I don’t think Blogspot has this kind of security, so I’m NEVER leaving LiveJournal! Some Livejournal users even filter EVERY entry so that the general public can never view the blog!

  2. 2 chase March 13, 2007 at 11:04 am

    I usually dont censor things in my blog even to the point that my ex bf Vicente came by and harrassed moi.

  3. 3 Wild Reeds March 13, 2007 at 12:07 pm

    Always a tricky issue, blog censorship..

  4. 4 NeiLDC March 13, 2007 at 9:43 pm

    Censor a bit.. its up to you at want point is your limit bro..
    The book has the alienation looking!!! huh?

  5. 5 Mark March 14, 2007 at 1:51 am

    Yes zocalo, that’s what’s good about LJ. I couldn’t even read the blog of my friend who keeps an LJ account! Oh, the madness!

    Your a tough guy, chase. I may not be so tough after all.

    Yes it is, Wild Reeds.

    Thanks, Neil. Nah, it’s a cute thing!

  6. 6 gayboydiary March 14, 2007 at 11:52 pm

    I’ve read a couple of Murakami’s books. Kafka on the shore is quite bizarre but a good read nonetheless. I hope you’ll enjoy it too.

    GBD xxx

  7. 7 Mark March 15, 2007 at 1:19 am

    Thanks for the heads-up, GBD. We’ll see about that. :-)


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


