one tequila, two tequila, three tequila, four; five tequila, six tequila, seven tequila, more


I had a fun weekend which kicked off Friday night, well technically Saturday midnight, when I met up with two friends from the Norwegian language school I attended last September. Jenny is a lovely girl from New Zealand, while Nabil is a Tunisian looker who moved to Oslo from Canada. Our first stop for the night was Et Glass, a bar across the majestic Grand Hotel, where we discussed our parallel lives, from leaving our fabulous jobs in our home cities to coming all the way to Norway for love. Our poisons of choice were white wine, beer, coke rum, and a little martini.

We then moved to London Pub, Oslo’s oldest gay bar, settling first at the downstairs pub to down some more poison while learning Norwegian from a friendly Dorothy, before we dragged our asses to the main floor dancefloor and danced the night away. Jenny did some of her contemporary dance, with movements that seemed to tell a story, while Nabil’s hips told no lie as he shook it the Shakira way. He stayed in Egypt for 6 months just to study the dance. While my little old me, it’s some sexy grind here and some arm throwing there.

Saturday night, Stein and Keng invited me, Knut and six more friends at their place to watch the first semi-finals for the Norwegian Melodi Grand Prix, the heat that will determine Norway’s representative to the 2007 Eurovision Song Contest in Helsinki, Finland. Here in Norway, it is but courteous to bring your own drinks and drinks to share with everybody. Our poison of choice: a bottle of good old Jose Cuervo Tequila and some fine Australian white wine. Beer just won’t do it for me. I hate the taste of it. It also leaves a bad taste in my mouth. The tequila was left untouched until later into the night, and boy, when the lick-it-slam-it-suck-it session started, everybody was on a roll. With high, uninhibited spirits, we gyrated and danced the night away, thanks to some ABBA, Madonna, and Gwen Stefani.

We sure knew how to wind it up. Tequila or not.

5 Responses to “one tequila, two tequila, three tequila, four; five tequila, six tequila, seven tequila, more”


  1. 1 Shigeki January 22, 2007 at 6:54 pm

    I miss being a 20 something for that particular reason. :-)

    I wish I could party like that. huh.

    But it sounds like you had a great weekend. yay.

  2. 2 RennyBA January 23, 2007 at 12:27 am

    Good to see you had a blast last weekend too. We where celebrating Diane’s birthday and even the in-laws from the US where there. Come on over and greet her!

  3. 3 R*Y A N January 24, 2007 at 6:30 am

    oh my, some serious liquor drinking there, mark. very impressed.

    my poison of choice is still tequila, but jager bombs are my current faves.

    salut!

  4. 4 chase January 26, 2007 at 11:33 am

    That is quite nice! You really know how to have fun.

    I havent been out lately due to my certain busyness!

  5. 5 Mr.Brian/Mr.Fletcher January 26, 2007 at 11:51 pm

    P-A-R-T-Why? ‘Cause you Gotta!

    And I always thought after the 7th tequila it was “Floor”.

    I know it is after the 3rd or 4th liquid cocaine!

    I haven’t partied in way too long. Shall I pencil you in for a visit and a party?


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


