4 in the morning

The first time I listened to Gwen Stefani’s The Sweet Escape, no particular song has stuck with me, apart from the first single “Wind It Up” because seriously, how could one escape the yodelling and a sample of “The Lonely Goatherd” from the Sound of Music?

Up front and admittedly superficially, I wasn’t so impressed with the album, with one song melding into the next with no song stopper to tug me hard and listen closely. But after a few rounds of the album playing in my iPod while at work, I discovered a great liking to several of the tracks and got addicted to “4 in the Morning” that now it’s on Repeat-One mode in my player.


4 in the Morning
Waking up to find another day
The moon got lost again last night
But now the sun has finally had its say
I guess I feel alright

But it hurts when I think
When I let it sink in
It’s all over me
I’m lying here in the dark
Watching you sleep, it hurts a lot

Refrain:
And all I know is
You’ve got to give me everything
Nothing less cause
You know I give you all of me

Chorus:
I give you everything that I am
I’m handin’ over everything that I’ve got
Cause I wanna have a really true love
Don’t ever wanna have to go and give you up
Stay up till four in the morning
And the tears are pouring
And I want to make it worth the fight
What have we been doing for all this time?
Baby if we’re gonna do it, come on do it right

All I wanted was to know I’m safe
Don’t want to lose the love I’ve found
Remember when you said that you would change
Don’t let me down
It’s not fair how you are
I can’t be complete
Can you give me more?

– Refrain / Chorus –

Oh please, you know what I need
Save all your love up for me
We can’t escape the love
Give me everything that you have

– Refrain / Chorus –

Give you everything
Give you all of me
To hear the sample, CLICK HERE.

5 Responses to “4 in the morning”


  1. 1 Shigeki January 12, 2007 at 11:23 pm

    Thanks for introducing more quiet music by her :-) I wasn’t particularly interested in that Wind it up but since they played it last night, I couldn’t take it out of my head!!! And I am sure my brain was draining.

    What were you doing at 4 in the morning? :-) Have a fantabulous weekend.

  2. 2 RennyBA January 13, 2007 at 1:29 am

    Haven’t heard of her before so thanks for the introduction!

    Wish you a great end to your week:-)

  3. 3 savante January 13, 2007 at 8:12 pm

    You are a Stefani fan! rue, Wind it Up was certainly memorable… hope to say the same of the rest of her songs.

  4. 4 Mark January 14, 2007 at 1:17 am

    You’re welcome, Shigeki. I guess this time I am leaning towards her more mellow songs, like “Early Winter.” So you have some yodelling messing up with your head, huh? I get ya. Hahaha!

    You’re welcome, Renny! Have a great weekend, too!

    I am, Paul. Some are memorable, some are so-so. But still, it’s Gwen. :)

  5. 5 tricia January 15, 2007 at 11:32 am

    love it………..i can totally relate to this!!!!

    dont ya agree? hihi

    waaahhhh!!!

    hey_3sha


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


