on air: espen lind

In between watching the latest episode of The Amazing Race and flipping the final page of Nick Hornby’s A Long Way Down, I saw him again. And realized that I love him.


Espen Lind, 35, is a successful Norwegian singer, songwriter and producer. He first hit the music scene in 1995 as “Sway” but had his major breakthrough two years later with the single “When Sussanah Cries”. In 2000, he released his third album which included the melodically ear-candy (is there such a thing, I just made this up) “Black Sunday” and a duet with Norwegian singer Sissel in “Where the Lost Ones Go”. One of the most beautiful songs I’ve heard, “Unloved,” came out in 2004 and shot to the top of the charts. A month after this release, Espen worked with pop artist Lene Marlin and co-wrote “Venn (Friend),” the Norwegian charity single for the December 2004 Tsunami victims. In 2006, he joined forces with the rest of the “Hallelujah” boys and embarked on a highly successful concert tour, the closing of which I was able to attend.


Aside from a gorgeously beatiful voice, he also has a clear resemblance to my favorite male artist Darren Hayes, thus completing the equation. His looks in the video “Unloved” reminded me of Darren in his very first video, “I Want You”. At times, he looks like Brad Pitt, too!

Enjoy these videos!

“Unloved” – Here he looks like Darren Hayes in the video I Want You

“Venn (Friend)” with other Norwegian artists

“Where the lost ones go” with Norwegian artist Sissel

“When Sussanah Cries” – Espen’s breakthrough hit

As a songwriter/producer, Espen has written songs for several other artists, including Beyoncé, Atomic Kitten, ex-Take That singer Mark Owen, as well as a number of local Norwegian acts.

6 Responses to “on air: espen lind”


  1. 1 RennyBA December 6, 2006 at 10:36 pm

    What a lovely post – you really seams to catch up with the Norwegian music – thanks for sharing!

    Glad you liked my Advent post from Folkemuseet. Your welcome back for another one:-)

  2. 2 NeiLDC December 7, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    i do have the album of espen lind!! i love.. “when susanna cries.. she cries a river”” good!!

  3. 3 chase December 9, 2006 at 2:23 am

    I also like Espend Lind. But there are two that I like best. Lene Marlin and D’Sound.

  4. 4 c. aléssandro December 10, 2006 at 10:32 am

    still not my type. he’s cute though.

  5. 5 ~*galenlondeien*~ December 11, 2006 at 7:49 am

    He’s cute. Yes, he looks like Darren Hayes and his name is familiar. I just realized I’ve heard “When Susannah Cries” before in some soundtrack I can’t remember and I love that song. :)

  6. 6 Mark December 16, 2006 at 9:15 pm

    I like Norwegian music, Renny. :-)

    That’s cool, Neil!

    Oh I love them, too, Chase!

    Now I know your type, C!

    He does look like Darren, Karen! And he even sounds like him, especially Million Miles Away and You’re So Cool. You should download them.


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


