holy smoke!

I had a freakin’ embarassing moment at work today.

A quarter before noon, I was planting one of the three fake and glittery white Christmas trees I decorated for a hotel in some big silver pot. Since I ran out of sand, I used cement base instead, with my boss’ approval of course. And you know how much fume erupts from a deluge of powdered cement. The smoke is heavy that your lungs could instantly wither into stone. The smoke is thick that it could go all the way up to the low-ceiling where a smoke detector magically appears, and trigger the fire alarm of the entire building.


Yes, I evacuated seven-floors worth of offices!

I was silently and slowly panicking when the alarm went off. It was so loud that one could easily scamper out of the building and run for dear life. My boss came to my spot and realized that I created the commotion. In disbelief, we and two other colleagues had to transfer three trees, three pots, three wooden platforms and a bag of cement to the hotel’s service entrance across the street, while people continued pouring out of the main entrance. I wasn’t told what the quick transfer was for, but I’m sure it’s that CSI thing called eliminating the evidence.

I’m wondering why no firemen came to the rescue though, but I’m sure that would have been worse. Troubling a public office with some silly and innocent incident. Later on, we all just laughed it off and I couldn’t hide the fact that deep inside, moments after the false alarm, I was rolling myself on the floor laughing.

What a day!

I’m taking a break this weekend since I’m going again to Steinkjer, Knut’s hometown, to attend his mom’s and sister’s double birthday celebration. I’m leaving you with the pop quiz I gave two days ago:

What is the world’s northernmost city?
What is the world’s southernmost city?

Mr. Bri has already given his guess. Why don’t you give yours, too?

Have a good weekend, everyone!

6 Responses to “holy smoke!”


  1. 1 ie November 18, 2006 at 6:32 am

    mark, if all the firemen (who’ll come to the office) look and dress that way, i wouldn’t mind creating a commotion.

    but that is, one hell of a story. kudos. :)

  2. 2 ie November 18, 2006 at 6:34 am

    by the way, what i meant was yours was one hell of a story. ha ha. the shame, the shame!

  3. 3 R*Y A N November 19, 2006 at 12:51 pm

    wow, now that’s embarassing. kinda puts my one to shame when i walked in on the boss, completely stalkers having a shower at the change rooms one sunday morning before the gym opened. phew!

  4. 4 savante November 20, 2006 at 5:31 am

    Not a single fireman to the rescue. Shucks.

  5. 5 ~*galenlondeien*~ November 21, 2006 at 5:23 am

    That’s one gutsy way to make an impression. I’m sure it’s gonna be an unforgettable one. Haha!

  6. 6 Mark November 30, 2006 at 2:50 am

    Don’t we all wanna be rescued by a fireman like this guy, ie?

    Morning showers, hmmm. He didn’t happen to sport a morning woodie, did he, R*yan?

    Shucks, indeed, Paul!

    I’m sure the time will come when we’ll just recall this laughing our asses off, Karen.


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


