todo sobre mi madre

 I watched “All About My Mother” tonight on DVD. It’s a good movie. It’s sad it almost moved me to tears each time Manuela cried her eyes dry over her dead son. It’s funny and irreverent that I snickered each time I heard the word “puta” thrown about by the transsexual Agrado. My mind’s too tired to do a review. I guess a personal review wouldn’t do justice to the beauty of this film. You just have to see it yourself, if you still haven’t.I guess the soul of the film was encapsulated in a monologue by the actress Huma who was rehearsing for another play she was starring in a few years later in Barcelona, which happens to be my most favorite lines in the movie.”There are people who think children are made in a day. But it takes a long time, a very long time. That’s why it’s so awful to see your child’s blood on the ground. A stream that flows for a minute and yet cost us years. When I found my son, he was lying in the middle of the street. I soaked my hands in his blood and licked them. Because it was mine. Animals lick their young, don’t they? I am not disgusted by my son. You don’t know what it’s like. In a monstrance of glass and topaz. I would put the earth soaked by his blood.”I guess all I’m saying is, I miss my mom. And my family back home. I’ve travelled miles and distances, but I’m not running away from anything. I’m trying to stand on my own two feet. But it’s good to know that should I fall to the ground, I know I have my family to run back to.

5 Responses to “todo sobre mi madre”


  1. 1 ~*galenlondeien*~ November 2, 2006 at 3:52 am

    Home is where the heart is… There’s no place like home. :)

  2. 2 Shigeki November 2, 2006 at 5:24 pm

    The first chilly winter in your life does make you feel different and miss your family as well. I feel for you. Keep yourself warm. :-) But I think that’s already so taken care of by your boy. :-) Happy Friday!

  3. 3 Mark November 3, 2006 at 12:47 am

    Indeed, Karen!

    Oh yes, you are so right about that, Shigeki!

  4. 4 R*Y A N November 4, 2006 at 3:34 am

    so long as you have them often in your thoughts, they are never far away.

    miss mo na si nanay, ‘no? :)

  5. 5 Mark November 5, 2006 at 5:52 pm

    Korek ka dyan, R*yan!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


