my hands are dirty

 Okay, that’s not me. Don’t panic. Imagine one-pack abs, less veiny arms, and unpretty hands.I’ve only been at work at the flowershop for four days and I have already received six cuts on my hands with all the flower trimming and cleaning involved in my job. My hands get dirty every time, thanks to the slimy flower stems, the soiled flower foams and the powder from rocks and pebbles used to accent an arrangement. My hands become drier than usual (because my hands are normally dry) due to the chlorine. And I’m sure you’re all familiar with those tiny slivers of skin right under the nails, which when you pull out hurt like hell. Yes, I have those in all ten fingers.My workmate said, to sum it all, that florists don’t have pretty hands.But I’m not complaining. It’s actually fun working with flowers. I never thought I would deal with them at a professional level. The only times I would arrange flowers would be every 1st of November when we visit and bring flowers to the dead. They bring so much life even in the dreariest of rooms. They make me smile just by looking at them. They make me feel comfortable even though I work standing for full eight hours. They make me go sing all sorts of songs (from Turkey’s Eurovision entry “Superstar” to Sting’s “Fields of Gold” and Shakira’s “Underneath Your Clothes”) in my head. And at the end of the day, they make me rich. A few days worth of work at the flowershop already equals my one-month salary in the Philippines. Forget the cost of living blah blah blah, I’ve never earned this much!And now I’m eyeing that fabulous winter jacket from Zara. The weather report says it’s gonna be 1-degree this coming Saturday.Uh-oh.

7 Responses to “my hands are dirty”


  1. 1 Jay October 17, 2006 at 2:44 am

    A few days’ worth of work = a month’s salary in the Philippines? But surely that’s just a result of currency exchange rates? Or has your spending power improved as well?

    Do you take flowers home to Knut?

  2. 2 juOn October 17, 2006 at 6:27 am

    Consider the cuts (among other things) war scars. You’ve obviously won it. :-)

  3. 3 TorAa October 17, 2006 at 5:55 pm

    Dealing with flowers can be pretty scary and dangerous. Back in June, I went out picking lilacs to Anna. I came back with lilacs and a 35 cm deep bleeding cut. Should have worn pads. I fell down when using a wooden case to stand on. Anyway: Flowers are like art: beautifil. So you see you’ll become an artist.

  4. 4 charles ravndal October 17, 2006 at 9:55 pm

    I hope Zara reaches Bergen as well or all those fab stores. But I’ll be checking them out when I am in Oslo probably in Nov. 16 due to a film forum or something. I am just waiting for my classmates decision.

    I am so bad with flowers and never had this kind of thing with them.

  5. 5 NeiLDC October 18, 2006 at 12:37 pm

    Flowers are really good! I love it, not only flowers but plants as well, they say that i have a good hand over it! at first it will be hard to handle but try to get the trick. its just like a relationship! u understand me right? Roses are red, violets are not blue, sampaguita is our flower, and ylang ylang was great for u!nver mind ylang ylang, send me some tulips then heheh!!

    ZARA is everywhere around the corner here, i need to check out some on Saturday shopping. i need some pairs of jeans and coats!

    BESOS WHAhhh!!

  6. 6 Mark October 18, 2006 at 10:46 pm

    Yes Jay, you read it right. It sounds crazy but it’s true. Exchange rates and spending power aside, wages in the Philippines are too little, too shortchanged. Not yet on the flowers, but I plan to on the 22nd. :-)

    Thanks, Juon! That’s deep, pare!

    Ouch, Toraa! You should be careful! You don’t want your lilacs bleeding red and your hands bleeding. Yup, flowers are beautiful. Today, I had my first take at flower arrangement. Not full-blown, just a base of ferns for each pot.

    I’m sure you’ll hoard loads of fab finds, Charles!

    I know, Neil! I got myself a cashmere sweater and a pair of leather shoes in Zara Barcelona. Nice poem on the flowers, hehehe. I’m sure you’d make a fantastic flower arrangement.

    MWAH!

  7. 7 ~*galenlondeien*~ October 19, 2006 at 6:15 am

    It’s getting cold there. Have something warm to nuzzle in. Hehe! :)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


