that store from sweden, that film from the south

 That store from SwedenWith a busted kitchen lamp, Knut and I went to that legendary store from Sweden – IKEA! I’ve first read about IKEA and seen its smorgasbord of home items and interior design inspirations from a Dutch IKEA catalogue somewhere in the early ’90s. Who would’ve thought that I’d find myself in one of its stores a decade after?That store is so neat, what with its designer-quality pieces and sets at, as they say, IKEA prices! If I have all the money in the world, I would renovate/redecorate our apartment here in Oslo, and on a far-fetched scale, ship their items to my home back in Manila!I love the design sensibility of Scandinavians. And they wouldn’t be called one of the best and most interesting in the world for nothing.The free-ride bus from the Central Station to IKEA Furuset.One of the bedroom showcases in the store that I really liked.After a day of shopping and eating Swedish meatballs. Geez I’m bloated!That film from the southFilm Fra Sor is ongoing in Oslo and we are watching the Filipino film The Blossoming of Maximo Oliveros tonight. I’ve actually seen the movie back in the Philippines and I don’t mind seeing it again with an all-Norwegian group (five in fact). It’s actually interesting to see their reactions and hear their opinions about the film. This movie has made its rounds in the international film festival circuit and has coveted major awards along the way. It’s also this year’s Philippine entry to the Best Foreign Film competition in the Oscars.“Just like the flower in the opening scenes, 12-year-old Maxi is a beautiful accent in the gritty underworld on the outskirts of Manila, where he lives. Living with his outlaw father and two older brothers, Maxi dutifully infuses everything he does for them with love. From cooking and sewing to braiding his brother’s hair, Maxi fulfills the role of dalaga for his family, living as a young lady in the absence of femininity and their deceased mother. We follow Maxi through his glowing and textured world of shopping, reenacting beauty pageants, and hanging out at a local DVD stand that screens movies for abundant audiences of transient children. But Maxi’s emotions blossom late one night when he is rescued from neighborhood thugs by Victor, a kind rookie cop. Smitten with the handsome policeman, Maxi begins to feel pulled between the petty-thief family that he loves and the law and romance Victor embodies. As part of an impressive ensemble cast, newcomers Nathan Lopez and JR Valentin exuberantly inhabit their roles as Maxi and Victor. With its vibrant cinematography, simple scoring, and vast emotional scope, Auraeus Solito’s directorial debut as a dramatic filmmaker seems itself like a flower amid the grit of most contemporary cinema.” – N. Bird Runningwater for the Sundance Film Festival

11 Responses to “that store from sweden, that film from the south”


  1. 1 ~*galenlondeien*~ October 8, 2006 at 9:38 am

    That’s great news about the movie! Makes me proud to be Pinoy. I haven’t watched “Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros” but I read somewhere that they’ll be showing it again and I don’t wanna miss it. :)

  2. 2 charles ravndal October 8, 2006 at 3:41 pm

    I hope that they will show the film on Bergen Internasjonal Filmfestival.

    Hey can you tell me how you manage to carry on my layout on beta blogger ?

  3. 3 RennyBA October 8, 2006 at 10:27 pm

    I’ve heard that IKEA is the most visited “atraction” in Oslo – a pitty Lol But your pics where nicec though!
    Havn’t seen the movie, but it sounds great!
    Have a lovely week ahead and give my regards to Knut!

  4. 4 R*Y A N October 8, 2006 at 11:05 pm

    love ikea – my room is completely furnished with the stuff.

    as for the movie, love to see it. hopefully they’ll show it sometime here in melbourne.

    let us know how your nite out turns out.

  5. 5 Anonymous October 9, 2006 at 3:55 am

    Hello Bro,
    Better take detailed picture of the furniture in Ikea. You know naman we can do it also here in our shop. hehe.
    I like also that film … Maximo Oliveros.
    Nagkita nga pala kami ni Maribel Ilag sa ABS-CBN one time nagpagupit me sa Fix.

    Kuya Alfred

  6. 6 Anonymous October 10, 2006 at 7:51 pm

    My favorite Fil film!
    Ikea. I love their pieces, though I haven’t been in one yet. Been seeing a few pieces of those being sold in California before, in one of the garage sale in San Fran. I don’t understand why is it expensive. hahahaha! tell me…

    Maximo… so sad, I think they would never sell a DVD here due to piracy. I’ll buy the original one!

    Take care Mark!

    Free

  7. 7 ikanbilis October 10, 2006 at 9:19 pm

    i heart IKEA!!

  8. 8 savante October 11, 2006 at 3:52 am

    Which gay man doesn’t love IKEA? :O

    And I gotta look for that movie. Heard of it but haven’t seen it anywhere!

  9. 9 Mark October 11, 2006 at 6:12 pm

    You should, Karen! I hope it wins in the film festival here, and on a grander scale, in the Oscar’s too! Hehehe.

    I hope that, Charles, so you could see it, too! Hmmm, lemme see… I just pressed some buttons, I didn’t do anything special/specific. I don’t remember, beklager.

    Hehehe on that, Renny. If I were to write a tourist guide to Oslo for budget-strained tourists, I would recommend going to IKEA to eat cheap Swedish food and buy cheap Swedish delicacies. Knut says hi back!

    Hey R*yan! It hasn’t been shown there yet? It was a fun night. After the movie, we went to an all-drinking bar and afterwards, had my very first sample of one of Norway’s gay bars. ;-)

    Hey bro! I got you the 2007 catalogue! Shipping it there with the Christmas package.

    Hey Frances! Expensive? It’s supposed to be cheap! I love Maximo, too! Sadly, I think it’s not too commercial to be DVD-produced.

    I heart Ikea, too, ikanbilis!

    You are so right, Paul!

    :-)
    Mark

  10. 10 Expat Traveler October 11, 2006 at 10:42 pm

    funny about Renny’s stats comment. WE don’t like IKEA that much but once is a good time… The quality is much lower and in California where I am from, you can find way better furniture for cheaper and better quality… Oh well….

  11. 11 Sam October 14, 2006 at 2:27 pm

    I’m with Paul – I SO LOVE IKEA! It’s so fun to just walk around the place and look at all the ideas for home designs. =P I *heart* IKEA! =P


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


