first exams, extremely loud and incredibly close

There’s supposed to be another installment of WWYD Wednesday today but the recent course of things didn’t afford me the time to snap pictures of hot Scandinavians. So this is gonna be a boring one, I warn you.It’s only my second day at the language school today and hallelujah, I had my first written exams covering five chapters. I had to catch up with the lessons and did a quick review last night. The test was fairly easy; I had some difficulty with constructing paragraphs though so I constructed really easy ones. By the way, there’s 13 of us in the class and it’s like attending a congress in the United Nations, what with classmates from Italy, France, Romania, Japan, USA, Russia, Pakistan and India. I don’t have a friend or a buddy yet, whereas they already go on pairs or menage-a-trois. Well, I’m not there to socialize and we only have a month left before the course ends anyway. Maybe I’ll make friends with the next course, hopefully of a higher level, I would be taking.On my way home, I picked up this book which intrigued me the first time I read its summary. It’s “Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close.” Read the first chapter HERE.Books here in Norway are pretty expensive compared to what you could get in the Philippines. This book costs about twice the price of a paperback in Manila. Nonetheless, I’m happy that I have something new to read. I could have picked a Norwegian paperback but that’s still way too advanced for me. I start with something small like a newspaper, a magazine, or those captioned TV shows like Hotel Caesar, which is so big here in Norway. It’s like the longest soap ever, with more than 1,000 episodes to date.

8 Responses to “first exams, extremely loud and incredibly close”


  1. 1 R*Y A N September 14, 2006 at 9:39 am

    looks interesting, mark.

    you should check out a book called, “if nobody speaks of remarkable things”. highly recommended.

    g’luck with language studies. let me know when you learn how to say, “hey gorgeous, can i take your clothes off with my teeth?” ;)

  2. 2 savante September 14, 2006 at 9:43 am

    Ryan is right. I think you need to teach us how to say that in Norwegian too.

  3. 3 Expat Traveler September 15, 2006 at 4:11 am

    Hey mark,

    oh no pics! bummer! (take many at once!!)

    commenting on the camera shot. You definitely need a manual focus camera. You could try getting this effect by using a macro mode or flower mode but if you don’t even have that, it’s hard to achieve….

    I’m not sure what else I can recommend, maybe you can ask more questions…

  4. 4 RennyBA September 15, 2006 at 8:48 am

    Hi Mark, glad you are doing well at the language school and since I’ve met you personaly, I know you are quite good in Norwegian already and I’m sure you will improve rapidly.
    Have a great end to your week:-)

  5. 5 ikanbilis September 15, 2006 at 9:13 am

    i would love to join such class like that! nice blog and great content! i’d link you for sure!

  6. 6 charles ravndal September 15, 2006 at 5:50 pm

    I think I should try that question in Norwegian…
    Hey gorgeous, can I take your clothes off with my teeth?

    -Hei søten, kan jeg kle av deg med tennene?

    Lol. Anyway, goodluck on your studies Mark!

  7. 7 Mark September 15, 2006 at 6:13 pm

    Thanks for the book-tip, R*yan! I’ll certainly look for that one. Oh, that trademark line from you! I must learn to do that first before I learn how to say it in Norwegian. :-)

    I’ll make an audio post on that, Paul, when I learn how to say it. Thanks!

    That’s a bummer, Expat Traveler! Thanks for the reply!

    Thank you very much, Renny! Have a great weekend with your lovely wife!

    Thanks ikanbilis! Linking you, too!

    Thanks for the translation Charles! Now I can use it on boys. Hahaha! Mwah! :-)

  8. 8 ~*galenlondeien*~ September 18, 2006 at 8:42 am

    Looks interesting. I’ve watched the movie “Everything is Illuminated” and I love it. :)


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


