so typical, so norwegian

I’ve been here in Oslo for nine days now and yet I haven’t had any Norwegian meal. I’ve had Indian, Vietnamese, and Italian in restaurants and have cooked the usual pasta creations, grilled burgers and sausages, and stirred some Chinese wok at home.

With Stein and Keng coming over, and me not having any traditional Norwegian meal yet, Knut prepared kjottkake or meat cakes – a typical dish in any Norwegian household. Meat cakes are like meat balls but shaped like fat miniature burger patties. This dish is usually served with boiled potatoes (some mash it, I think), gravy, mashed peas (some boil it, I think), and tyttebaer or mountain cranberry.

This meal is very filling and delicious. I could have more meat cakes any time. Photo courtesy of Oslo Foodie, which I am adding to my blogroll, what with its great-looking photos of Norwegian delicacies and recipes that would surely come in handy when the kitchen beckons.

6 Responses to “so typical, so norwegian”


  1. 1 charles ravndal July 13, 2006 at 12:37 am

    So how do you find Norwegian food but isnt it weird that you cant find any Norwegian restaurants around but lots of kebab store, vietnamese, chinese and indian restos instead

  2. 2 Tim July 13, 2006 at 7:43 am

    Well, it is no wonder you can’t find a typical Norwegian meal – after all, you ARE in Oslo. That’s the equivalent of being in San Francisco, which is a place where you will not find a typical American meal. You must travel outside Oslo, and I have a suggestion for you, living in Norway myself. Take the train to a small town named Kløfta. There is a local bar/restaraunt there, you will see to the right on the main road upon getting off the train. Ask for a plate of kjøttkaker og poteter (you had mashed potatoes? ugh, you need whole potatoes) . . . you’ll get your norsk mat, then.

  3. 3 Shigeki July 13, 2006 at 6:24 pm

    um.. what’s up with those sweet thingy? I mean I had something similar in Sweden. They offered me meatballs (I heard they were made out of reindeer meat but I may be wrong) with strawberry jam. That was totally a culture shock. But this one looks better than I had in Sweden. But Sweden and Norway are about the same in my book. :-) no offense. I didn’t say it in a bad way though.

  4. 4 Mark July 13, 2006 at 9:34 pm

    Hey Charles! Norwegian food, for starters, is good. Just don’t make me eat that nasty sight called the sheep head. :-|

    No wonder then, Tim! Thanks for the foodtrip suggestion. I would go aboard that train one of these days. I had boiled whole potatoes, by the way. :-)

    I thought it was weird, too, having berries/jam on my meat, but it’s an ok combination. Nothing unpleasant there. I think Scandinavian countries have many things in common. :-)

  5. 5 RennyBA July 14, 2006 at 10:58 pm

    Hmmmmmm Kjøttkaker is one of my favorite and I like it with cabbage in cream sous instead of pease. Tyttebær is a must!

  6. 6 Mark July 15, 2006 at 7:53 pm

    I love it, too! So easy to prepare and so tasty! Thanks for visiting, Renny!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


