it’s a wrap

I attended a fashion show last night at Rustan’s Makati, celebrating the 5th anniversary of U, my former-company-slash-retailer’s “young adult fashion” division. It’s weird to attend such an event as a guest, when a few lookbacks ago, I was one of them – toiling night and day, working behind the scenes, balancing priorities like a juggler on a unicycle. It’s good to see my colleagues again and to be in their company amidst the familiar lights, blaring sounds, catwalks, and cocktail tables.

Just in time for the event, I found the perfect sports jacket, and I knew just the right place where I could snatch it off the rack – People Are People at Glorietta Makati. It’s this very dark gray, almost black, three-button cotton blazer and you could see the thread striations, giving that rugged feel to it. It has an embroidery work (paisley and curliques) on the shoulders and on the upper back portion just under the collar. Also, it comes with a detachable hood, which is so utilitarian! Love love love it. I would be wearing this on the flight to Oslo, paired with a graphic tee, dark jeans and sneakers.

Today, I parted with my two-year-old black Bossini zip-up jacket, which I have used only on a few occasions. I am leaving it with one of my best guy buds, Nickko, who kept harping on it since he apprenticed for Rustan’s. He gave me a blue Nautica winter jacket with ash-colored body and sleeve lining and a “down-like insulation”, which he never used, not with our tropical climate.

Along with these two new acquisitions, I would be bringing to Oslo another winter jacket in gray/silver, a 4You motorbike nylon jacket in chocolate with red-and-yellow stripes, a windbreaker in red/black, and a ribbed black turtleneck zip-up sweater. These would surely come handy during those upcoming cold days. The only problem – luggage space.

Oh heaven, help me!

3 Responses to “it’s a wrap”


  1. 1 Shigeki June 9, 2006 at 7:31 pm

    you fashion whore. :-) Who needs all those clothes when your boy keeps you warm? But when I was in the 20s, I did exactly what you did so I don’t blame you on that one. :-) Make sure you pack everything.

  2. 2 NeiLDC June 9, 2006 at 7:54 pm

    Check all the necessary things and be sure not to leave the passport behind. Anyway clothes. No space that will not be a problem.Wear it or Hang it around you when you fly….In case bring DUTY FREE BAG!

  3. 3 charles ravndal June 10, 2006 at 2:01 am

    Oh I am excited for you my dear mark. Hope to see you soon here!!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


