the last two weeks at work

Two weeks to go.

Since I submitted my one-month notice two weeks ago, I’ve been pretty laid back at the office. These past two weeks, I have been going to the office just because I need to, not because I have to. I’ve just been monitoring my ongoing promotions and doing some consultancy work for a few brands in need here and there. Other than that, my typical day at work includes a slew of surfing the net, chatting with colleagues who are busy or otherwise, reading fresh copies of complimentary magazines, listening to music, etcetera etcetera.

Today is no different. Got in just right before nine, opened my blog which led me to other blogs, visited a forum site, checked email accounts both personal and work-provided, called travel agencies to look for a cheaper ticket to Oslo, had a meeting cancelled just because it rained heavily two hours before the set time, and took half of the afternoon planning with my colleagues our gimmick itinerary for Friday and Saturday – an ode to my impending departure.

Since the news that I am leaving broke out at the office, my colleagues have been planning activities that would make the most out of my remaining stay in the office and in the country. I am deeply touched with the thought and the eagerness that we, for the few last times, would go out together and enjoy each other’s company. I love these guys! And I am lucky that they love me, too. I think it’s never too easy to find people you’d meld with easily at work, more so friends who would be there for and with you ’til the end. We’d be watching what is probably our last movie-to-see together as a group, Da Vinci Code on Friday night, then a few of us would spend some time along Manila Bay, where the breeze is high and the energy is higher. I’ll be sleeping over at a colleague’s and on Saturday, we’d do a mini-tour of Manila – breakfast in Chinatown’s Ongpin, some culture renewal at the National Museum, a walk at Paco Park, and possibly rent bikes at the Breakwater of Manila Bay.

Two weeks to go. And I am missing them already. This is gonna be hard but I have to be strong.

I have to be strong.

8 Responses to “the last two weeks at work”


  1. 1 Super Manix!!! May 18, 2006 at 7:13 am

    hi mark,

    why are you leaving us?

  2. 2 savante May 18, 2006 at 8:27 am

    Waitaminute. Where exactly is it you’re going?

    Paul

  3. 3 dai May 18, 2006 at 12:08 pm

    i’ll miss you, cousin.

  4. 4 R*Y A N May 19, 2006 at 6:09 am

    what a touching post. it made me miss them, too! :)

  5. 5 Paul May 19, 2006 at 5:41 pm

    Wel, finding friends at work is a bit hard but it’s harder if you’ve found them, and you’ll leave them. It’s just a phase. For sure, these people will always be there as your friends regardless the distance. Just enjoy your remaining days with them. When you get to Oslo, it will be a fresh start for you again my Dear.

    Have fun aiyt? And take care always. ;-)

  6. 6 Chas Ravndal May 20, 2006 at 4:16 pm

    hello Mark! I will visit you in Oslo since anyways Savi is also going to move there!

  7. 7 Mark May 21, 2006 at 2:37 pm

    The things we do for love, Manix, the things we do for love. :-)

    The “way to the North” Paul. :-)

    I will miss you, too, Ate Dai, and then some… Waitaminute, I’ll miss everyone and everything in Manila!

    Thanks, Ryan… Sigh…

    Thanks, Paul. I hope that I’ll be able to get by easily and that I’d also find good friends over there. I’m gonna miss my friends here, for sure, and that includes you. :-)

    Looking forward to that, Chas! See you soon! :-)

  8. 8 Shigeki May 22, 2006 at 3:38 pm

    You will miss the tropical weather and reasonable taxations but it’s not like you cannot visit Manila at all or anything, right? Once you are settled, you will live happily. I’d be too sorry for you if you had to go and live on Mars. :-)


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


