happy feet

I never thought I would succumb to this sensation, but here I was, I bought my second pair of Havaianas this afternoon (from Rustan’s Makati) out of impulse, triggered by a growing desire to start collecting. I got the limited edition 2006 Cartunistas “Music Carnival” in yellow featuring these cute cartoon characters playing a bongo and doing capoeira. So very Brazil!


“They do not misshape, they do not smell, and now they feature designs
from the best Brazilian cartoonists that will not leave your feet.
Brazil dips its toe in the underground, epitomized by the country’s
coolest cartoonists. The humor and creativity of Adao Iturrusgarai,
Angeli, Caco Galhardo, Fernando Gonsales and Glauco, have been placed
with care on the new Havainas Cartunistas. There are five exclusive styles
in the following themes: of football, music Carnival, coastline, and Amazonia,
each signed by the designing artist.”
– from havaianas.com
A year ago, you would hear me say that people who buy Havaianas have gone bonkers because who in his right mind would spend P895 on a pair of slippers, when you can get one from the wet market at a hundredth fraction of the price? But that went down the drain when my feet finally sank into the softest soles of the 2006 Style Havaianas in moss+lawn green, which I got from Rustan’s Cebu two weeks ago.

See, my feet are taking me places in search of Havaianas – from Cebu to Makati and who knows, to the land of these babies… Brazil! I sooo want to go to Brazil, by the way, since that blessed country does not require Philippine passport holders to get a visa.

I want to start a collection. I want a pair on every birthday, Christmas, and anniversary.

Hint hint hint.

Update: 1:25 am, 08.May
The photo above was taken using my current phone, Nokia 3230. Not a great good pic, huh? I wonder if the Motorazr V3i takes better pictures. I’m thinking of getting one.

14 Responses to “happy feet”


  1. 1 Paul May 7, 2006 at 7:08 pm

    Okay… now tell me when is your birthday and what size are you??? Will definitely give you a pair.

    Seriously… Until then!

  2. 2 Mark May 7, 2006 at 7:19 pm

    Oh dear… You don’t have to… (Jan. 6, size 41-42) Hahahaha! Thanks a bunch! ^_^

  3. 3 Paul May 7, 2006 at 10:20 pm

    But your birthday’s done already… Hmmm… Surprise surprise!

    I need one more thing from you though… where will I send it? Any address? ;-)

  4. 4 allan May 8, 2006 at 10:05 am

    i can hear dulcet sounds of wedding bells… *kidding*

  5. 5 Chas Ravndal May 8, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    how much does a havainas cost ? I am so intrigued about it actually

  6. 6 BitchyMikeyMike May 8, 2006 at 10:10 pm

    aaaaaaahhhhh….. so you’re the Mark that Paul’s ravin’ about… weeee :D hi there:)

    by the way, love the Cartunista Havs

  7. 7 Super Manix!!! May 9, 2006 at 7:47 am

    hi mark,

    i got a v3i. i guess it would take a better pic. however, its not as user-friendly as a nokia phone.

    by the way, how did you get to remove the header from your blog? yung may blogger links on top? lemme know please.

    super thanks,

    manix

  8. 8 savante May 9, 2006 at 11:25 am

    Whoa. Nice slippers. Like the one on the left.

    paul

  9. 9 Jay May 10, 2006 at 2:16 am

    The problem with slippers like these is that when you’re wearing them, they look just like any other slippers. That’s why you gotta slip out of them now and then, hook a strap on your toe and dangle it seductively (while pouting and holding a drink with an umbrella and looking sultrily at the horizon).

    NOT that I do anything of the sort of course.

  10. 10 pakcik May 10, 2006 at 10:37 am

    love the one of the left. so cute. remind me of the almost same slippers that I bought last nite :)

  11. 11 Mark May 11, 2006 at 12:48 pm

    Intrigero ka ha, Allan! :-)

    Hey Chas, it’s being sold here at P695 or P895, depending on the style and design. I checked if there are havs in Oslo, and there is one store selling it in the city!

    Hello there, bitchymikeymike! What was he raving about humble-old-me? :-) I saw you when I was in Ayala Center Cebu, during the FTV fashion show, you were wearing blue I think. Love ’em too!

    Hey Manix! I’ve heard lots of rants about the V3i’s downfall on the user-friendly category. I think it all just depends on how long until you get used to it.

    Thanks much, Paul! Now you know why they are so addicting!

    Thanks for the fashion tip, Jay. You gotta learn it from THE master! :-)

    Hello pakcik! Where’d you get yours? Is it a dupe (the brand)?

  12. 12 BitchyMikeyMike May 11, 2006 at 7:17 pm

    OH MY STINKIN VAGINA?!?!?!?! You’re here in Cebu? And you saw me? OH MY GAH! this is soo embarassing. LOL

    you’re with FTV?

    Oh, Paul’s just tellin’ me stuffs that you’re sweet and all… LOL! (Paul’s gonna kill me)

  13. 13 Mark May 11, 2006 at 7:38 pm

    Hi again, bitchymikeymike! Yeah, I saw you. And I knew your face from one of the photos from Paul’s blog. :-) I work for Rustan’s and it’s my first time to visit Cebu and our store there. We worked closely with the director for the clothes used in the show.

    Geez, that made me blush. Hehehe. :-)

  14. 14 BitchyMikeyMike May 14, 2006 at 11:24 pm

    You should’ve said “Hi” or sumthin… hmpppph!

    anyway highway subways and freeways, so you work for Rustan’s… coolness… one of ym fave shops by the way (ass kissin’ mode turned ON LOL)… but seriously, I was like soooo bummed last Saturday, I went back to buy that cowboyhat at U Swimwear but wala na, and they only had one stock.. bummer… I wish you guys would put more stuffs… anyway, I’m glad that they finally placed a billabong section. Loves it! ^_^

    and if you’re wondwerin still… Paul likes you. hahahaha … now I’m jsut being annoying na. JK ^_^


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


