dazed and confused (not!) in hong kong; boy, i’m in love!

So I spent four fun-filled days in Hong Kong, and when I say fun, think shopping, sightseeing, shopping, Disneyland and shopping. Hong Kong was never that cold in my previous visits so it was a refreshing respite, despite the occasional drizzle and the grey sky.

Tile mosaic art in one of Harbour City’s washrooms.

One of the highlights of the trip was getting shopping and dining tips from Hong Kong-based Dazed and Confused. You would be just as amazed with his shopping savvy and food culture insights. He led me to stores I never would have entered. He texted which specific stores were carrying discounted items. He was like a virtual GPS system, showing me the way to this and that area, complete with MTR stations to disembark from and exits to take. He must have scoured the entire of Hong Kong – in search for more jeans to add on to his already extensive collection – and have built an internal travel book, which he was more than willing to share pages of, along the way. Thanks very much, Lester! Just when I thought I had the most of Hong Kong covered in my past trips there, you surprised me with something new, unique, and memorable.

I wanted to post some photos from my trip but that would have to wait until I get my Powerbook back, since I downloaded all my photos there whilst in HK. You see, I accidentally dropped it the night I arrived home from the airport, in an effort to save a darn new jacket from sliding down my shoulder. Stupid me! Thanks to the laptop sleeve, it only suffered a nasty dent in the top lefthand corner and parts of the lower aluminum casing adjacent to that “impact” corner popped out. I guess you could imagine my shock. You would be shocked too. Thankfully, it was running normally when I used it this afternoon; just had to park it at Cooltoyz for some repair and further testing. Thanks very much, Cooltoyz!

Thanks to a new friend, I am in love… with a song that’s slowly climbing up the 25 Most Played list in my iPod – Gavin de Graw’s Follow Through. Parts of the lyrics below:

Oh, this is the start of something good
Don’t you agree?
I haven’t felt like this in so many moons
You know what I mean?
And we can build through this destruction
As we are standing on our feet

So, since you want to be with me
You’ll have to follow through
With every word you say
And I, all I really want is you
You to stick around
I’ll see you everyday
But you have to follow through
You have to follow through

Boy, I’m in love!

11 Responses to “dazed and confused (not!) in hong kong; boy, i’m in love!”


  1. 1 NeiLDC April 17, 2006 at 10:26 pm

    Yeah nice travel this past holyweek, it was nice trip hongkong, i hope to see you around as well mark when im back in manila, any to dazed, let him guide you as well here in barcelona, he has family over here!
    did you enjoy much?

  2. 2 ~*galenlondeien*~ April 18, 2006 at 6:26 am

    Glad you’re having a blast! :)

  3. 3 Jay April 18, 2006 at 9:17 pm

    You dropped a laptop to save a brand new jacket.

    -hands Mark the Gold Trophy For Outstanding Gayness-

  4. 4 Paul April 19, 2006 at 12:33 am

    Glad you’re back safe Mark! And glad to know you’re in-love…

    Teehee!

  5. 5 allan April 19, 2006 at 5:13 am

    hey… ur back… hoping to see more pics from your hk entry… btw, i already posted some of my davao getaway pics in my blog.

  6. 6 R*Y A N April 19, 2006 at 9:57 am

    i’m glad that you’ve discovered gavin – he is an underrated singer and cute to boot. if you like “follow through”, you should check out “(nice to meet you) anyway” and “meaning”. better yet, just go ahead and get his cd “chariot stripped” (the acoustic version). you’d definitely love it.

    btw, welcome back!

  7. 7 Shigeki April 19, 2006 at 2:24 pm

    I am glad you had a fantabulous trip to HK. But I am sorry about the laptop. When it’s in the process of reparing, have you ever wondered if those technical guys browse your naughty files saves on your disk? I would browse if I were one of them :-)

    Anyway, looking forward to the photos!

  8. 8 Chas Ravndal April 19, 2006 at 10:19 pm

    hello dear Mark! I am back now and I love the new look here! And by the way, I really miss yah!

  9. 9 Mark April 20, 2006 at 4:12 pm

    Hello Neil! Oh he does? I don’t see myself travelling to Barcelona anytime soon, but who knows?

    Hello Karen! Hope you are, too!

    Hello Jay! I almost fell off my seat when I read that. That’s sooooo funny and sooooo true!

    Hello Paul! Thanks much! I am in love with life in general, yes. :-)

    Hello Allan! Finally got my pbook back so I could gather some photos to post, finally!

    Hello Ryan! He’s cute? Never got the chance to check out any of his pics. Shall do. :-) I love Follow Through and have actually downloaded all the songs in his album. Piracy alert!

    Hello Shigeki! I actually thought of that, but what the hell, I’d be more than happy to share it with them. Hehehe. Checked the recent items in my pbook, no Sean Cody or Active Duty file has been viewed. Hehehe.

    Hello Chas! Thank you very much! Missed ya too! Glad you had a great time with Odd.

    Thanks everyone!

  10. 10 Dazed and Confused April 21, 2006 at 10:48 am

    Glad to know that you enjoyed Hong Kong and were able to find a lot of good stuff to shop for. Kowloon and HK is actually just 40% of the total shopping area of HK and there’s so much more to visit.

    Schedule a trip back here in July because that’s the big sale season. You’ll REALLY have fun shopping then.

  11. 11 ash April 24, 2006 at 6:48 pm

    waatt?? i’m so sorry u dropped your laptop. I would feel the same if i dropped mine, touch wood. But i laughed out load at Jay’s comment too! Have a great time in HK Mark! You luck boy!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


