04/07 x 03

Nope, that’s not some mathematical equation I posted for you guys to break pencil leads over and solve (though I know you’d hardly break a sweat bead).

Yesterday, April 7th, marked the birthday of three people I know:

1. the patriarch and chairman of the Rustan’s Group of Companies, no personal relationship whatsoever.
2. my college bud and one of my bestfriends, Cres.
3. my most recent ex.

Yup, I did the unthinkable.

Exactly two years after the split (I remember us breaking up on his frickin’ birthday, too. The breakup was painful and ugly. Isn’t April the 7th just lovely?), I sent him a birthday SMS, something which I didn’t do same day of last year. It was a sincere greeting. I wished him the best in this life. Then a few minutes after, I got a text. “Who are you?” Turns out it’s his mom’s number that I got, which I thought was his new number, which I found out in some uncanny way months after the split. Or is it really his mom’s number that I got? Could it be him?

In any case, I got my message across and told the receiver it’s me. His mom said she’ll forward my message to him and she thanked me. Despite… Or doesn’t she remember me at all? I remembered her hating me so much.

It was painful. It was ugly.

9 Responses to “04/07 x 03”


  1. 1 NeiLDC April 7, 2006 at 8:30 pm

    hey happyBirthday to evryone! dont be sad, some people still know you, at least you know thier bday!
    regards!

  2. 2 Paul April 8, 2006 at 11:00 pm

    I have to admit that was painful. Especially you’ve loved that person so dearly. Even your last day was a bit bitter but still, we can’t forget all the good things that have happened the entirety of the relationship.

    *Paul pats Mark on the back*

  3. 3 savante April 9, 2006 at 9:58 am

    Sounds painful. Never easy getting over an ex. Sigh.

    Oddly enough, That’s the date of my parents’ anniversary and I brought them out for dinner.

    Paul

  4. 4 Shigeki April 9, 2006 at 5:28 pm

    I am so sorry that it didn’t turn out you thought it would. But his mom? wow. Anyway, you have a fantabulous week ahead.

  5. 5 R*Y A N April 10, 2006 at 6:32 am

    smile pumpkin. r*yan loves you. :)

  6. 6 Chas Ravndal April 10, 2006 at 5:13 pm

    cheer up my dear since we are here for you! anyways, i am still waiting for your avatar darling!

  7. 7 Jay April 11, 2006 at 2:21 am

    This is seriously getting creepy. There are SO MANY BLOGGERS with boyfriend’s/ex-boyfriends celebrating their birthdays this month.

  8. 8 Mark April 11, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    Thanks for all those greetings, Neil! I can only extend your greeting to my friend Cres, though. Don’t want another episode with Ryan’s mom or whatev…

    Thanks, Paul! I’ve moved on but I still find myself thinking about my ex from time to time, wondering how he is and yes, the moments we shared. Le sigh…

    Hi Paul! Then I’d always remember your parents’ wedding anniversary. :-) It’s never easy… Ne-ver. But I’ve moved on…

    Hi Shigeki! I had a traumatic episode with his mom during the split, so it’s a WOW, yeah. Definitely gonna have a fab week in HK!

    Hey, R*yan! Thanks! Oddly enough, was it you or my ex-Ryan who loves me? :-)

    Thanks, too, Charles! When I get back… promise. :-)

    What’s with these Pisces/Aries guys, Jay?

  9. 9 ~*galenlondeien*~ April 12, 2006 at 6:54 am

    Sometimes we have to experience the ugliness in order to appreciate the beauty in life. *getting philosophical*

    Heehee. :)


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


