tee off

One of the perks of working for my company is the occassional sale of our just-off-season merchandise at incredibly marked down prices! Believe me when I say incredibly marked down prices.

For the past two days, FUCK FCUK tops, bottoms, jackets, shoes and bags were sold at 10% (20 at the most) of, not off, the regular retail price. It’s crazy! Most of the items on sale were ill-fitting (I’m not an XS-shirt guy, nor a 36-waistline bloke) though. I got lucky on the last day; was able to buy a pair of bootcut jeans, a medium longsleeved paisley (I love paisley!) shirt, and two size-L tees. I don’t know if I’d actually use the t-shirts because they’re a tad loose for my taste. I think it’s a travesty for a gay man to be wearing a loose lousy shirt. Anyway, I can always gift it to someone. Hahaha!

Other brands that have held special employees sale events are Ermenegildo Zegna (a pair of shoes for P2,000-P4,000 = USD40 – USD80; holy!), Dolce & Gabbana underwear, BCBG and Jimmy Choo shoes, and a slew of imported men’s and women’s RTW, as well as equally stylish private labels. Not to mention the sale events of our cosmetics division – think Mac, Chanel, Clarins, Bobbi Brown, Escada, Michael Kors, Aramis and a whole lot more.

Anyway, I’ve been hearing so much about the Team Manila shirts, what with their cool graphic designs, local humor, and patriotic thrusts, and boy oh boy, they actually look great. Some housemates in the recently concluded Big Brother Celebrity Edition even wore Team Manila shirts inside the house. Here are some t-shirt graphic prints off their March 2006 designs.


Clockwise from top left: stylized saranggola or kite, a favorite summer pasttime for kids; halo-halo, a term for a local shaved ice dessert, which translates to “mix-mix”, loosely rendered in the shirt by a mish-mash of Jose Rizal’s mug, the international dialing code for the Philippines, and local words for “vacation”, “slippers” and “special”; stylized trumpo or toy top in English; national heroes Andres Bonifacio, Jose Rizal, and Emilio Aguinaldo in aviator shades; Neu-Manila, I don’t know how to explain it, but this is the design I like best; and “Seven Thousand Island Remix”, as the Philippines has 7,107 islands – high tide.

They produce totes, too!


They have the feel of A Bathing Ape, and they definitely have better designs than those FUCK FCUK shirts I got.

Gotta raid their store soon! If you’d like to place an order and wear a piece.feel.taste of Manila, they consider international shipping, I think. Visit Team Manila now!

13 Responses to “tee off”


  1. 1 Jay April 6, 2006 at 4:37 am

    Boy you’re REALLY good at this PR business aren’t you? :-p

  2. 2 R*Y A N April 6, 2006 at 8:47 am

    fcuk at only ten per cent of the rrp??? lucky biatch ;) makes me feel like i’ve way overpaid for my lovely grey woolen hooded jacket/cardigan… and here, i thought i got a bargain when i saw it was marked down from AUD$299 and on sale for AUD$159! but hey, thanks for the heads up on team manila. will get my cousin to bring some when she gets here next week. w00t!

  3. 3 Moja April 6, 2006 at 9:48 am

    WAAAh!! very low price! i think id like to have that bag with #63. im fond of orange and white recently. =)

    Miss ka na daw ni Frances. hope we could meet up on my birthday again. May 12. and so you could meet my fiance,Teddy.

  4. 4 Chas Ravndal April 6, 2006 at 5:37 pm

    wow! The designs are really chic and cool! And also Mark where is your avatar dear ? I am waiting for it! Mwuahhhhh!

  5. 5 Dazed and Confused April 7, 2006 at 4:07 am

    Whoa! 10% of the original price! Now that’s a good deal. Do you get it for all SSI brands? If you’ll get the same privilege for Zara, heck, i’m applying. Hahaha. It’s during moments like these that I wonder why I didn’t take that job they offered me a few years ago.

  6. 6 Kiss My Mike April 7, 2006 at 5:42 pm

    Impressive t-shirt designs at Team Manila!

  7. 7 Mark April 7, 2006 at 7:27 pm

    That coming from you, Jay, I am honored.

    I thought you cursed right there, Jay! I always read and spell FCUK the brand as that naughty word. We give the word SALE a totally new meaning. :-) Ask your cousin to go there quick! I think they only produce a hundred of each design and needless to say, get sold in a jiffy!

    Great pick, Moja! I am an orange-kinda guy, too. See you soon!

    I bet you could create equally spanking designs yourself, Charles, in an anime kind of way. :-) I haven’t picked a good photo of me yet (or at least a good representation), so just hang in there sweetie.

    We wish, dazed and confused! SSI is a totally different universe (though part of the group) and they operate independently from Rustan’s Dept. Store. Our employee-exclusive discount card applies for all their brands, though, well – except for Zara! You might be glad to know that Zara opened a 2nd store in Manila – in Glorietta no less! Do drop by on your next flight out to Manila.

    Go Team Manila, go! Go Kiss My Mike, go!

    Mwah x 1000, y’all!

  8. 8 Dazed and Confused April 10, 2006 at 6:01 am

    Does that mean you get the same type of discount for Springfield? Unfortunately, they don’t have Springfield in HK, so either I buy it in Manila, or I have to go all the way to China.

  9. 9 Mark April 10, 2006 at 3:20 pm

    Yup, I could get a discount or use my employee credit card in Springfield Rustan’s Makati. I haven’t asked Springfield outlets outside Rustan’s though. But I think the same scheme is extended, too. Is there a Springfield in Macau? I might take a daytrip to Macau when I’m in HK this Wed thru Saturday.

  10. 10 Dazed and Confused April 10, 2006 at 5:50 pm

    Nope, they don’t have Springfield in Macau. Actually, shopping in Macau is a non-event. The shops there are just extensions of Hong Kong shops (like Giordano, Bossini, Baleno), and they’re priced even higher. You should go to Macau for the sights, though. Certain areas, like Senado Square and the ruins of St. Paul reminds me of quaint European towns. A day trip to Macau is just enough for you to cover the basics: like Taipa and Coloane Islands. Try the egg tarts at Lord Stow’s and Margaret’s. Try the Portugese cuisine at Fernando’s. And bring home some peanut candies and cookies – they’re Macau specialties.

    So you’ll be here this Wednesday. As they say in Putonghua: Huanying ni lai Hong Kong! We just might run into each other.

  11. 11 Mark April 10, 2006 at 6:15 pm

    I actually checked the Virtual Tour in the Macau Tourism website and the place looks like a bit run-down. I’m fascinated with the tiled streets, though :-) Thanks for the culinary tips! Would definitely try all (and bring home some) of those if the day trip pushes through.

    How’s the weather over there? I checked Yahoo Weather and it seems there’d be rainshowers during my stay there. Hmmm… :-( I hope not.

    Hope to run into ya! I’ve seen your pics, anyway, so I’ll wave a big Hi to ya when we cross paths! Thanks! :-)

  12. 12 Dazed and Confused April 11, 2006 at 4:33 am

    Weather here is a bit erratic. At times, it’s warm and sunny, then it becomes gloomy in a couple of hours. I wouldn’t worry too much about rainshowers as they usually just last 15 minutes or so. And it’s more of a drizzle rather than a shower. So the weather isn’t too much of a worry.

    Where will you and your friends be staying in HK? Send me an email so I can give you additional tips on Macau and other places in HK you should check out while you’re here. They’ve opened the BApe store in Central, so that’s something you should check out.

  13. 13 Mark April 11, 2006 at 6:20 pm

    Thanks for the weather update! I’m relieved to know that the weather ain’t so bad. I would be staying in Marco Polo Prince in TST. Gotta check the BApe store in Central; where exactly is it? Thanks much!!! Sending you an email in a bit…


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


