birthdays and bookings

It is Knut’s birthday today. Since we were not able to celebrate it together as planned, I just sang to him over the phone and wished him the best of everything. The guy’s not too big on birthdays. He celebrated his birthday four days earlier with a dinner + drinks with a few friends. Today, he just went bookshopping for a travel guide to Berlin, since he’s going there on the Easter weekend. No fancy dinner waiting at home, no butt-naked Mark serving it to him, no big night waiting to happen.

Anyways, he is a big Eurovision fan though. So as a present, I sent him a Eurovision coffee table book and a DVD that compiled last year’s performances. He received the DVD yesterday at his mailbox; it’s strange that it didn’t come with the other item when they were dispatched from Amazon UK at the same time. Hmmm, strange…

I have this interesting thing with birthdays of my boyfriends. It always falls on a day when a friend of mine is also celebrating his/her birthday. Like with Knut, he is sharing his birthday with my present colleague Genevieve, who treated us to pasta today. She’s throwing a party this Friday after work, so looking forward to that. With my recent ex, his birthday is the same as one (of three) of my closest friend’s, who would be going to Hong Kong with me the week of Easter. Then my very first boyfriend’s birthday is the same as my college friend’s who is now happily married and settled in North Carolina. Hmmm, strange…

So we are booked for a 4-day stay in Hong Kong two weeks from now and I am really excited about being able to fly away from all the stress here in Manila. This time, we are visiting Disneyland since my two nieces are travelling with us. I know HK Disneyland is not the most magical of them all, but hey, it’s still Disneyland. And besides, I’ve never been to any Disneyland before. So apart from that, it’s the same old banana I am returning to.

Our agent retrieved photo copies of our passports this evening and with a little chat, my desire to open up a travel agency here in Manila was further rectified. The investment is from a quarter to half-a-million, and despite this figure, I am itchy to finally do what I am most interested in. She said I could start small, say with two agents working under me, two system terminals and to just serve tickets and packages, sans the visa assistance. But first I need to do networking with the local IATA people, several travel agents, and to get an Amadeus system to get my agency working. Hmmm, looks promising…

14 Responses to “birthdays and bookings”


  1. 1 NeiLDC March 29, 2006 at 8:30 pm

    hi mark, once again!
    anyway bday.. hmm i heard about the eurovision song contest and it really is, im fanatic of that as well since when i got here in madrid since 2003, aniwei, this year our spain rep was from ASEREJE ” las ketchup girls” for the song BLOODY MARY!
    ive been waiting for you mag…

  2. 2 Chas Ravndal March 29, 2006 at 9:02 pm

    i am also a fanatic of Eurovision and hoping or wishing that I will be one of the contestants lol! But anyways, you are such a sweet guy Mark!

  3. 3 Kiss My Mike March 29, 2006 at 11:38 pm

    That was so sweet of you to sing a birthday song over the phone. On my birthday, can you do that too? Haha. But instead of singing happy birthday, can you sing Regine’s version of “I don’t wanna miss a thing” especially the Bridge part?

  4. 4 Jay March 29, 2006 at 11:39 pm

    Law of large numbers darlin’ – you’ve had so many boyfriends, some of them are bound to share a birthday with someone else :-p

    Now, tell us about this Knut fella.

  5. 5 ~*galenlondeien*~ March 30, 2006 at 6:38 am

    Happy birthday to your Knut! Hehe! Good luck on fulfilling your dream. Would you be giving me a free world tour if I apply as your travel agent? Hehehe! :)

  6. 6 savante March 30, 2006 at 10:32 am

    You need half a million for capital?! :O

    paul

  7. 7 Chas Ravndal March 30, 2006 at 1:46 pm

    hello mark. do you have a pic so I can use for ur avatar on my blog?

  8. 8 Shigeki March 30, 2006 at 2:29 pm

    Another HK trip!!! I am so jealous. :-) But you totally deserve the reward considering what you have gone through at work. Pack everything you need. :-)

    Happy Birthday to your boy. I am a big fan of Eurovision and am thinking of going to Athens. :-)

  9. 9 Chas Ravndal March 30, 2006 at 5:25 pm

    mark i will do your blog when I am done with all these work! I still have to finish renny’s blog as well!

  10. 10 Mark March 30, 2006 at 5:31 pm

    Hi Neil, I didn’t know that established singers can join Eurovision – thought it was like Idol. Learned from Knut that Celine Dion actually represented Switzerland (did I remember it right?) some years ago. Still looking for Icon. :-)

    Hi Chas! With a great voice and talent, why doncha? I bet you’ll dazzle ’emall. Great new blog design, by the way! My blog certainly needs a face lift. Hint hint. Hahaha!

    Hi Mike! Give me your number, I’m up for the challenge. NOT. Hahaha! I can sing, yes, but definitely not belt out like a diva! That’s all I could do to Knut on his birthday, wished I was there, ugh!

    Hi Jay! Hey, that’s only three boyfriends in a span of three years; my list of loverse ain’t that long! :-) Just read on to know more about Knut, my dear Jay.

    Hi Karen! Thanks for the greeting! Of course! My agent told me that they do get annual trips abroad plus pocket money. She’s even going on a cruise this year! Aaaaah! I am no longer focused at work since I’ve been thinking about it these past few days.

    Hi Paul! That’s half-a-mil in Philippine pesos, which is around USD9,600. That’s relatively small for starting a business. Can you lend me some? :-)

    Hi Shigeki! Don’t be jealous, you’ve been to sooooo many other places that I haven’t been to yet. I AM jealous of you. And cherry blossoms! Oh my… Thanks for the greeting, too! Do you get to see Eurovision in Japan? Oh I love to go to Athens! Can I come? I’d be a nice travel companion, I promise. :-)

  11. 11 Mark March 30, 2006 at 5:32 pm

    Oh Charles!!! You are such a sweetheart! Mwah mwah mwah! No rush. I’m the least of your priorities, so no worries. Geez, I wanna cry for joy! :-) <3 ya!!!

  12. 12 Mark March 30, 2006 at 5:34 pm

    Oh wait, Jay… Let me correct myself… That’s three boyfriends in a span of EIGHT years, not three. :-)

  13. 13 Anonymous April 3, 2006 at 10:02 am

    Hey Bro,
    Give your proposal for that business you are thinkin, i can finance your initial operations. Lam mo naman since then pa im pushing yah to put up your own business. Lets talk business and the money you need, after all im the only brother you have. Goodluck! – Kuya Alfred

  14. 14 Mark April 3, 2006 at 4:23 pm

    Hey bro! Really? Wow, that would be great! Sige, lemme set things straight muna with this one. I’m kinda clueless pa about the technicalities and going around things. But I’m really interested in finally putting up a business and make my first million. Hahaha! Thanks a lot, brotha! :-)


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


