through the pipeline

My first job (well, my second technically since I went for a job in a magazine but didn’t go back after the first day) was with Pipeline Media, an integrated marketing communications agency that specialized in graphic design, content development, and digital media. Looking back, the one year I spent there has to be one of the best years in my still-blossoming professional life. While small in manpower scale, it’s larger than life in the genius, creative, portfolio, and people departments. And everytime I am met with frustrations at the companies I’ve worked with thereafter, I always pine for the times I’ve had in Pipeline.

My bosses Dean and Marc are two of the smartest people I’ve met in my life, and they continue to awe and inspire me. Maureen, who now styles for MTV Philippines after her successful career in a fashion magazine, is the haute couture muse/account manager that we all loved. Carlo, our ultra fun and fabulous copywriter, made coming out at the office a breeze for me (he’s the predecessor gauge). Our designers Dindo, Jolet, Noel, Carl, Bok, Kris 1, and Kris 2, have world-class design sensibilities and were schooled in the best design institutions. The amiable ladies Ajie, Grace, and Butch lent the warmth of friendship and family on a day-to-day basis. These people, together with our brainstorming sessions alongside Upwords tournaments, our client pitching alongside Cranium parties, have all contributed to what I have become today. But as in all good things, Pipeline Media came to an end.

But with such a small integrated marketing circle in Manila, we’ve found a way back to each other. Kestrel IMC, Pipeline-resurrected but with a new office space, crew, and set of clients, is the designer of our soon-to-launch website. Marc has been liasing with us over the last month, and all this time, I’ve been asking where Dean was. Today, I finally got to meet Dean again. Boy, I was overjoyed! I am overjoyed for him, too. He’s launching his latest novel, Salamanca, on April 1 at Fully Booked Greenhills, The Promenade.


I am also proud of another fellow Piper, Carl. His graphic novel, Zsazsa Zaturnnah, which was recently staged as a musical at the Cultural Center of the Philippines will have a re-run this April, due to insistent public demand.

Meet Zsazsa.


“Carlo Vergara’s Ang Kagila-gilalas na Pakikipagsapalaran ni Zsazsa Zaturnnah (The Amazing Adventures of Zsazsa Zaturnnah) is considered by many readers and critics alike as a tour de force among the recent crop of Filipino comic books. Combining irreverent humor, pop culture sensibilities, and nuanced writing, Zsazsa Zaturnnah has been postively received by readers of various age groups and economic backgrounds.

Zsazsa Zaturnnah tells the story of Ada, a cynical resident of a small provincial town, who gains superhuman abilities through a stone that falls from the heavens. With the ability to transform into the voluptuous and powerful Zaturnnah, Ada defends his hometown from dangerous otherworldly threats.

Adding color to this simple tale is the fact that Ada is a homosexual, proprietor of his own quaint beauty salon. Joining him in his extraordinary adventure is his frilly-mouthed assistant Didi and his secret love Dodong. Because of strong language and suggestive imagery, the comic book is strictly for mature readers.”

I missed the initial staging of this muzikal and so it’s a must that I don’t skip this second chance.

Ze Zchedule
April 20, 21, 22, 23, 27, 28, 29 & 30
7:30 pm at the new PETA THEATER CENTER
Sunnyside Drive, Bgy. Kristong Hari, E. Rodriguez Ave, QC

Call Tanghalang Pilipino at 8323661.

6 Responses to “through the pipeline”


  1. 1 Chas Ravndal March 27, 2006 at 6:18 pm

    wow I am really interested on the Zsazsa Zaturnah comics. I hope its available online and also what’s the plot of salamanca? Salamanca is known as magic right _?

  2. 2 NeiLDC March 27, 2006 at 8:44 pm

    wow, nice book.of the salamanca? does it have an origin of spanish?
    ciao

  3. 3 ~*galenlondeien*~ March 28, 2006 at 5:43 am

    I wanna watch Zsa Zsa again and drool over Arnold Reyes’s “Dodong”. Heehee.

  4. 4 Dean March 28, 2006 at 8:37 am

    I miss you too. As told one of your new colleagues – you were one of my best people :) And I’m very proud of your own successes!

  5. 5 ie March 28, 2006 at 12:53 pm

    meeting and knowing a lot of creative and fascinating people has this immensely contagious aftermath. they also happen to bring out the best in you. you’re lucky. :]

  6. 6 Jay March 28, 2006 at 7:35 pm

    A homo who turns into a voluptuous and powerful woman. I actually know quite a few of those.


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


