please don’t take a picture

Shits so thick you could stir it with a stick…We’re sick of being jerked aroundWear that on your sleeve

It’s been a bad dayPlease don’t take a pictureIt’s been a bad dayPlease…

– Bad Day, REM
Seems like fate is not letting me off its rusty hook just yet. In yet another episode of the continuing saga drama at the office, today’s segment is one of those really ugly ones. It’s one thing to take shit from people face to face. It’s a different story altogether when unfounded allegations and finger-pointings attack you like a fuming fighting bull when you’ve innocently put on a flaming red shirt and got thrown in that arena thirsty for blood.

It’s disheartening. It’s depressing. It’s fucking unfair.

Somehow, for an eternal optimist, you’d find the elusive silver lining amidst a stormy season. Find a better reason why all these things are happening. Maybe, just maybe, this is that wake-up call I’ve been trying to ignore, like that snoozing cellphone alarm every morning only to find out I’d wake up an hour after.

I might be on the lookout for the next job to take, and I am setting my eyes on the hotel or airline industry. Anything to do with travel. If I’d have the money, I’d go put up a travel agency. I want to do something that I want to do. I don’t want to do anymore things that I’m not cut out to do in the first place. I knew that this form of regret would come sooner or later after I took on the management traineeship for events and promos. I used to do events and promos, for the first three months, then decided it’s not for me. Causing the switch to PR. I loved doing publicity and all that media blitz. It’s my turf. Not chasing around uncooperative ugly people, thinking of activities and gimmicks to resuscitate their dying sales and aging merchandise, and getting all stressed and wrinkled along the way. Where’s the fab in that? Huh.

I want want want to do hotel work! With the carpeted halls, the spiffy suits, and the joy of servicing guests. Right. Strike that last one out. It’s all about the carpet and the suits, baby!

I want want want to do airline work! With the unlimited plane tickets, the unlimited plane tickets, the unlimited plane tickets. Okay, and the discounted tickets for family members.

H-E-L-P-! Hotel and airline owners and presidents. Hire me!!! This is a distress call. Save me from my misery, please!

But wait, I do see a silver lining behind the dark grey clouds after all. Good luck on your interview, my darling! This one’s for us.

8 Responses to “please don’t take a picture”


  1. 1 Jay March 21, 2006 at 12:12 am

    Set up a business here in London and I’ll come work for you. I’m in career-limbo at the moment, one so bad that ANY move at all would be a step up.

  2. 2 Moja March 21, 2006 at 8:26 am

    Mark!!!

    You may now change my url add in your list. hehe. my haitus is over.. hehe.. what happened was, I made On Cloud Nine my sorry-you-can-not-make-any-comment-here blog.. while Away from the Crowd is my normal and hollering blog. Hehe. Yay!!

    Update me if you are really serious with setting up your own travel agency. Hehe.

  3. 3 savante March 21, 2006 at 12:01 pm

    All of us get that feeling like we’re in a rut sometimes – even me. I have been eyeing the classifieds on a daily basis.

    Poor guy! You’ll get a better job! Deep breaths.

    Paul

  4. 4 R*Y A N March 21, 2006 at 12:42 pm

    i thought i found the perfect job as a personal trainer after making a sea-change from a nicely paying finance career.

    after two years, my itchy feet want to take me elsewhere again. flight attendant sounds nice – it’ll satisfy my cravings of travelling, plus, i just love being in planes and airports. is that weird?

    my point – even if you reach what you think is your ideal place, you may not stay there for very long… regardless of where you started from.

    mind you, i’m a genetic and microbiological science graduate at uni. i know how to clone bugs and things!

    g’luck with your quest.

  5. 5 Mr. Brian March 21, 2006 at 4:02 pm

    If it weren’t for the “high-risk” nature now applicable to the trade, I’d say choose airlines. But perhaps you could become a travel columnist, looking for the latest and greatest vacation location to write about for the new trend-setting mag!

  6. 6 Shigeki March 22, 2006 at 10:55 pm

    My job used to be airlines thingy but it was not as enjoyable as it looked from the outside. But the highest priority is what you would be enjoying the most. :-) I hope you come across the fantabulous job! Good luck!

  7. 7 Chas Ravndal March 23, 2006 at 2:22 pm

    hello mark. you are now on my blogspotlight!

  8. 8 Mark March 23, 2006 at 3:02 pm

    Hi Jay! I wish I could do just that, but where’s the money? Ugh! I don’t think I could even buy myself a ticket to London. But who knows? If fate rewards me with a million-dollar lottery pot, let’s see what we can do.

    Oh. My. God. Moja! Long time no hear! Thanks for the link update. And congratulations on the engagement! When’s the big day? Invited ako dyan ha. :-)

    Hello, Paul! Thanks for the comforting words. I didn’t think you’d also be on the lookout for a new job. But then again, we are all insatiable beings on the lookout for greener pastures. G’luck with your hunting, too!

    Hey Ryan! That is not weird at all. I love love love airports, too. Or maybe we’re both weird. Hehe. I too feel that I could never stay in a job for more than two years, that’s just too long. Call it naive or restless. Personal trainer slash genetic engineer < -- Oh. My. God. That's hot! Hello Mr. Brian! That’s got to be one of the jobs I could do for life. Travelling and writing about all those places. Conde Nast… Sigh… I should start building my portfolio, but then again, they’re mostly fashion-related. Hmmm… Hi Shigeki! Let me try that airline thingie first, I’m sure I’d enjoy it somehow. I would enjoy anything that’s travel-related. Itchy feet! Thanks for the well-wishes, hope you’re having a great time in Portland! Hello Charles! Thanks very much for the blog spotlight! Mwah mwah mwah!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


