crushed by crash

As a tradition, I skipped work today to catch the Oscars, which was beamed at 9 AM Manila time as a delayed telecast (maybe an hour or two from Hollywood, didn’t really check the time zones involved).

Crash, the emerging darkhorse in this year’s Oscar’s Best Picture race, pulled an upset by winning over Brokeback Mountain. Not only did it crush Ang Lee’s and Focus Features’ film, but it also crushed me on a personal level since I was rooting so much for Brokeback Mountain, whose victorious stride in pre-Oscars award-giving bodies I thought would give a kick in the most important night in Hollywood. Now I didn’t see that coming. Maybe it’s premature of me to say that about Crash, since I haven’t seen the movie, and haven’t gotten wind of it in weeks leading to the Oscars.

Oh well, at least Ang Lee won as Best Director. Brokeback Mountain also won Best Adapted Screenplay and Original Score. I am so crushed about my boys Heath and Jake, and the darling Michelle Williams who looked smashing in her canary yellow Vera Wang number. Equally smashing were Keira Knightley and Jessica Alba, those two were stellar style-wise for the night. As always, Nicole looked divine in a strapless ivory Balenciaga. Reese looked pretty and confident in a vintage Christian Dior, along with her hot husband Ryan, despite his seemingly chubbier cheeks.

To nurse this broken heart over Brokeback Mountain’s defeat, lemme go see my cowboys ride and slide it again. Enough already, I hear you say. Just this once, please. Then I’ll go find a copy of Crash to see if it was worth the collision.

3 Responses to “crushed by crash”


  1. 1 Shigeki March 6, 2006 at 6:29 pm

    It’s all politics unfortunately…

    But I liked that movie as well. It was awesome. I hope you enjoyed your day off. :)

  2. 2 NeiLDC March 6, 2006 at 11:14 pm

    Yeah i felt crash as well, i was lying down my bed at 3:30 am coz it was only shown here in cable, though we dont have cable,and i couldnt sleep. and it was Crash for best picture!grr.

  3. 3 ash March 7, 2006 at 11:19 am

    i was equally crushed too.. sigh…
    It’s a damn good thing Ang Lee won because he so deserve it. as well as the soundtrack. yay for them.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


