super stressful

I don’t even know why I had the time and energy to write this. Purging, at the least.

It was supposed to be a fun fuzz-free night at the anniversary party of Embassy Super Club, which our company sponsored and coordination and dealings of which was handled by me. Everything about the part of the organizers, in terms of the conditions and benefits we’d enjoy for shelling out a hundred thousand pesos, was wrong. It was a comedy of errors. That sort of comedy where you’d like to hurl the couch you’re sitting on towards the teevee.

First, they violated our corporate logo, which was prominently displayed on the photo-op wall for guests dressed in university dudes and hooker highschool girls to pose at. I could forgive the tacky material used, a cut-out styro of our logo, but not the distortion and wrong typography of the logo. It was like one those signs you see in front of a horror booth house. It’s that freaking terrible.

Second, the organizer didn’t include two of my major brands, who shared in the sponsorship cost, in the AVP loop which featured a year-worth of photos of the Club’s events and crazed, drugged, guests in wild party abandon.

These stressed me out upon arrival at the venue an hour before the party pops. My boss and I had to find ways to salvage the situation and save face from the sponsoring brands I bugged and asked money and resources from. End of the day, there was nothing more we could do. AVP loop’s on DVD already, our store is already closed to be able to pull-out banners, and we are just fucking fed up already from the sub-class output and half-baked promises of the party’s organizers. So we had to make do with live acknowledgment and mention in post-event publicity. I didn’t even stay to enjoy the party. Just downed a glass of vodka tonic to appease my stressed-out self.

Thankfully, I put in place an omnibus banner featuring all sponsoring brands from my company, like those logowalls you see as photo-op background in the Oscars, in Fashion Weeks, and the like. The organizer thought it was classy and fabulous. I know, right? And you are not.

To reward you for reaching this far into my rant entry, here’s another picture of Andrew Wolff. Hot ramp and print model from Manila. Shoe size: 13. Chest size: 41 last time he measured. 6 feet and 2 inches. And he is only 20 years old.

10 Responses to “super stressful”


  1. 1 Kiss My Mike February 28, 2006 at 6:49 pm

    thank goodness for your fabulous and brilliant mind! makes me proud being gay.

    now don’t stress too much dear…just keep in mind…

    stress = wrinkles
    wrinkles = bad

    MWAH!

  2. 2 Chas Ravndal February 28, 2006 at 7:29 pm

    just keep ur chill my dear marky! anyways, whats the nationality of this model guy.. he is cute but i am surprised that he is still 20

  3. 3 NeiLDC February 28, 2006 at 9:22 pm

    at least you have the time and the taste to put things up done!
    marky mark…jejej

  4. 4 NeiLDC February 28, 2006 at 9:43 pm

    btw.. yeah glitter and all the telenovela craze. jejej

  5. 5 R*Y A N March 1, 2006 at 5:29 am

    ohhh andrew wolfe – yum! and only 20, the carnality! grrr.

  6. 6 Shigeki March 1, 2006 at 3:20 pm

    I always wonder what press room people are doing every day… It sounds fascinating but stressful.. I hope you get to do something to blow it off. :-)

    I love him but I hate him for being so super good looking. I am sure he will age sooner if he is still 20 with that look. But I love him….

  7. 7 Jay March 2, 2006 at 12:24 am

    Yikes, I was reading, reading, reading, and then I scrolled and suddenly there was a half naked man on the screen! You nearly outed me in the office!

    Anyway. You clever boy. -pat pat-

  8. 8 ash March 2, 2006 at 10:10 am

    you’re fabulous mark. just fabulous. great backup plan btw. *showers mark with confetti*

    Btw, 20 yrs old!?!? wtf did his parents feed him?

  9. 9 savante March 2, 2006 at 5:30 pm

    Rant away, Mark!

    And damn, 20 years old and he’s that hot. Sigh.

    Paul

  10. 10 Mark March 2, 2006 at 6:19 pm

    Hey Mike! Thanks for the sweet words, and the wrinkle-free advice. Aren’t we fab?

    Hey Chas! I kept my chill that night, had I not been able to, I would have torn down the place! Haha! He’s British-Filipino, I think, raised by a British dad in London.

    Hey Neil! Thanks much! I wanted to press the face of the organizer against the logo wall, but then again that would have ruined the fabulosity (?) of it. Haha!

    Hey R*yan! I know!!! Don’t you just want to do carnal things to him!

    Hey Shigeki! By the way, I no longer a PR lizard, I am now in charge of events and promos, a much crazier world if I may say so. Would you help me blow the steam and stress off? Haha! You got a point there, but like you, I love him too!

    Hey Jay! Sorry for that surprise. Hope no one was looking. Thanks for the pat, so sweet of you.

    Hey Ash! Thanks for the double-fab compliment. I know you are more fab, what with all the advertising/copywriting work you do. My hat’s off to ad people. I know! He’s such a bulk of a man for 20. But he could dominate me anytime. Haha!

    Hey Paul! I did and it felt better afterwards. Come to think of it, I was nowhere near that body-of-a-god when I was 20, and not anywhere near now, too! Ugh!

    Thanks for dropping by!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 8 other followers

Categories


