"what time is it there?"

I received a totally unexpected phone call tonight. The number of the person calling didn’t register on my phone so I thought it was an international call from Knut, as is always the case. Taking the call hurriedly, I was caught surprised when it wasn’t Knut’s soothing voice that reached me through the wires. It was a girl’s. And it had that American twang to it.

“What time is it there?” she asked. I thought it was just a case of a misdial – an expensive misdial for it was indeed an international call. Then I asked who she was.

“It’s Star. Christarlette.”

Pause – a long pause on my part. Man, I was floored.

Oh. My. God. It was my ex-girlfriend calling. My only girlfriend from high school. Oh. My. Good. Lord. Yes, we exchanged a couple of messages at Friendster three months ago. She gave me her number, I gave mine. But I didn’t expect her to call. Yes, I told her at my Friendster message how I realize that I miss her so much. That it was so elating to hear from her again after all these years. You see, she went back to the States junior year. I always knew she’d be joining the US Navy, but apparently she joined the Air Force and is flying high for two and a half years now.

So back to the conversation, it was short, sweet, and surreal. She only had four minutes remaining on her phone card, it was early morning over there, and having been up for over an hour, she thought of calling me. She’s still single and she was supposed to get married. She asked me if I was already married. I said no. She asked if I had children. I said I wouldn’t come to that. I asked her if she had children. She said no. I don’t know why I said “perfect.” She asked me if I’m going to America. I said no, that nothing and no one in America is waiting for me, so why go. Well, except for a trip to New York, I guess. I told her I have my eyes set on Europe. But didn’t discuss any other details. Didn’t tell her I was gay. She said I sounded different. I don’t think my voice had a certain gay-ness to it. Must be the years in between she said. I said hers was still the same. Then I remembered those times when she used to sing to me on the phone. So surreal. The whole four minutes of it was so surreal. It made my heart skip. I was elated. I don’t fucking know why I was smiling ear-to-ear after the conversation.

Hmmm. I don’t know how to end this post. My head’s still spinning. This whole thing is fucking with my head. I want to hear from her again, though. I said I would call her one of these days. She said she would, too. Let’s wait until that time comes.

5 Responses to “"what time is it there?"”


  1. 1 Shigeki February 19, 2006 at 5:32 am

    It doesn’t mean you turned staright, does it? TAHT would be surreal. Maybe, she wants you back or something? Watch out dude. Have a mentally peaceful Sunday.

  2. 2 savante February 19, 2006 at 10:01 am

    Whoa, your ex girlfriend. That is surreal. You sure you aren’t more than a little straight?

    Paul

  3. 3 Noel February 20, 2006 at 4:23 am

    Just curious.. does she read your blog? Or does your friendster have a link to your blog? Maybe she’ll know by now and she’ll be off your case.

    But gender aside, love is love and you still have fond memories of her, which is always good to keep.

  4. 4 ~*galenlondeien*~ February 20, 2006 at 6:47 am

    Hmm… is it going to be a matter of who you love more? Coz in the end, that would be unfair to all of you (yes, even to you). The scenario looks familiar and it just ended in tears. I hope yours doesn’t end that way. Best of luck! :)

  5. 5 Mark February 20, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    Hello Shigeki! Nope, I don’t think I’m turning straight. It’s just some catching-up repartee between old lovers/friends, which just happened to include those questions. I’m all good now.

    Hello Paul! Like what I said to Shigeki, I don’t think I’m turning back to what once was. It’s surreal because this is the first time I got to talk to her after what, 10 years? I guess I just missed her.

    Hey Chas! TMI! Hahaha. Kidding.

    Hello Noel! I do have a link to this blog at my Friendster but I think she hardly uses Friendster. She hasn’t even added me as a friend yet, so the last time she opened her account was when she registered and first sent me a message. Yes, I had fond memories of her and of our relationship.

    Hello Karen! There’s no choice presented here. I guess I just overreacted and suddenly felt this pang of missing her. Hmmm, do I sense some personal experience of yours here? Well, I hope you’re all good.


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


