dog day

I’d like to wish everyone a Happy Chinese New Year of the Fiery Dog!


And speaking of dogs, I might be adopting a toy poodle pretty soon, courtesy of one of my colleagues at work. I am excited about this one, since the last time I had a dog, one of those mongrils though and not some swanky furball, was many years ago. I got some piece of dog petting for the last two days when my nieces’ mini pinscher (pictured here) stayed in our home for some vaccination work. She’s such a cute fella, highly active, and it just delights me everytime she wags her short tail.

But of course, it’s not always pretty to pet dogs, like when they just shit wherever they want to – case in point Ella (the minpin) shitting on the carpet, near the fridge, by the foot of the stairs. Now this ticks off my dad, most especially, so I am kinda worried about still getting the toy poodle, which I plan to name Oslo by the way. Since I read that toy poodles are highly intelligent, I could probably just train him to go clawing on the door whenever he feels the need to poo. If only he could hop on the toilet, shit senseless, and flush afterwards, like that cat from the Meet the Parents video, then there would be no problem at all.

While Oslo is still chugging milk from his mom and his papers are well underway, I still have a few weeks to persuade my folks and drop hints that it’d be a lovely idea to have a toy dog running around the house. In the meantime, I hope all of you are enjoying the festivities as we welcome the Year of the Dog. Woof Woof!

9 Responses to “dog day”


  1. 1 ash January 28, 2006 at 7:40 pm

    wooof wooooofffff woooooooffffff!!!! thanks mark! Omg, my fren had a toy poodle once and when she was just a puppy, i was just so afraid of stepping on her because she’s white and curled up and she looked like a rolled up sock! Everytime I was at his house, I had to really open up my eyes to look out for a roll of sock. poodles are so cute when they’re puppies.. but then again, all puppies are cute!

  2. 2 Kiss My Mike January 29, 2006 at 1:45 am

    That’s hot! Congrats Daddy-Yo! Don’t mind the dog shit, later on he’ll learn how to flush…

  3. 3 Jay January 29, 2006 at 9:50 am

    God I want a puppy so badly! The shit bit is a problem though – I don’t think I could deal with stepping on a pile of fresh warm poo without wanting to strangle the dog, no matter how much I might love it.

  4. 4 Chas Ravndal January 29, 2006 at 1:38 pm

    i wanted to get a dog as well!!! Kung Hei Fat Choi!!!

    And, speaking of training a dog remember Bruce Almighty? I like the part about the dog!

  5. 5 Mark January 29, 2006 at 4:22 pm

    Woof woof woof Ash! That was a funny anecdote, I hope I won’t step on Oslo and mistaken him as a rolled up sock. But then again, he’s brown so it’s more conspicuous than a white poodle. I haven’t seen him yet, so I hope he’s really a cute fella. :-)

    Woof woof woof Mike! That’s hot? As in Paris Hilton That’s Hot? Hehehe. Can I just plug his a-hole with a cork so he won’t shit around? Whooops, petting no-no!

    Woof woof woof Jay! I know! Especially with toy dogs, their shit is just so tiny. At least their poop smells relatively better than a cat’s. Gross! Go get a puppy, maybe you can use that suggestion I posted above. Haha!

    Woof woof woof Chas! If only I have the power. But then again, toy poodles are so small they wouldn’t be able to reach the toilet flush. Hehehe. Happy CNY to you, too!

    Thanks for dropping by!

  6. 6 Shigeki January 29, 2006 at 5:12 pm

    Happy Chinese New Year to you, too. Did you do something special? since we don’t celebrate that, it was another weekend… I wish I could dress myself up pretty and do fabulous things on this particular holiday.

    dogs are very good at companying people. They are lovely. Their breath isn’t really kewl but they are adorable. However, I always have this fear to step on it or something when I see a toy dog….not that I have urge or anything…

  7. 7 she January 31, 2006 at 4:37 am

    cute dog!! :)

  8. 8 ~*galenlondeien*~ January 31, 2006 at 6:30 am

    Kung Hei Fat Choi! :)

  9. 9 Mark January 31, 2006 at 4:44 pm

    Hello Shigeki! Did nothing special on that day, just wished everyone a Happy CNY. :-) As much as I find them cute, I wouldn’t let dogs get near or lick my face. I keep on imagining the bacteria traveling from their mouths to mine. Gross.

    Thanks, She!

    Thanks, too, Karen!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


