filthy and gorgeous

Oooh I am so-decades (okay, only a year or so) late on this entry. I have heard of Scissor Sisters last March while my Norwegian pals and I were sunbathing on Batu Ferringhi Beach in Penang. They were raving about this five-piece pop/rock group of genius and fab New Yorkers. One of them even played the CD, but I didn’t pay any attention. The name of the group got stuck in my head though. Scissor Sisters. That’s rather clever.

Fast forward to yesterday – nine months after. After reading a blog entry naming the Scissor Sisters as one of the ’05 must-listens of this brilliant blogger, I know that they must be really something. And boy, they weren’t just something. They are the thing that makes you feel sexy, edgy, heady and high, while dancing and thumping to a brilliant brand-new beat.

I love how wicked they are in the tracks Filthy/Gorgeous, Lovers in the Backseat, and Tits on the Radio; while wistful in Mary, Laura, and Return to Oz. Somehow, Take Your Mama reminds me of some Elton John song that I just can’t quite put my finger on; not that I’m complaining, I love it! My iPod is loving them, too!

3 Responses to “filthy and gorgeous”


  1. 1 Mr. Brian December 30, 2005 at 5:26 pm

    Damn. What have I been missing? I better check them out.

  2. 2 Shigeki December 30, 2005 at 6:36 pm

    wow, there are so many things I don’t know about. That brilliant blogger looks very cute by the way. :-) I am definitely going to check it out tomorrow while I am doing the year-end massive *sigh* shopping. Thanks for the heads-up.

  3. 3 Mark December 30, 2005 at 10:49 pm

    Hey hey hey Brian and Shigeki!

    And I thought I was the only one who missed on them. You should check/buy their album soon, you won’t regret buying it. Well, I just downloaded dem songs from the Net. ^_^

    That blogger is Q. Allan Brocka, of Filipino descent, brilliant director of notable gay-themed films/shorts/docus, including Eating Out, which topped the Gay DVDs for 2005 in TLAVideo. If you find this DVD, don’t think twice of buying it; it’s fun, sexy, and beautiful! :-)

    On a side note, I danced in front of him (and a sea of GLBT folks) during the Manila Pink Film Fest two years ago, which he attended. ^_^

    Massive shopping, eh, Shigeki? Yowza! Have fun!!!
    19 hours to 2006! Have a great celebration y’both!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


