home improvement

*Update

For the past weeks, I have been coming home to a new house. Every day, something new is added to our house; it takes serums of home-improvement-botox. I’ve never appreciated beauty surgery until now.

I’m glad that we have installed a dual shower system in our newly-tiled and relaid-out bathroom. Now, in addition to the handheld showerhead, we have a fixed overhead shower that’s this big circular plate with concentric holes for water. It’s like bathing in the rain. I’ve only seen this type in the spa I usually go to, so it’s such pure delight that I already have one at home. Our toilet sink is new, as well as the bathroom sink with a large mirror for those vanity sessions.

We have also rearranged the kitchen, eliminating the eye sore clutter that was once there. To stash them away, we have installed drawers and cabinets with hidden compartments for plates, flat, glass and stemware, and the usual kitchen suspects. We have also re-tiled the kitchen counter, put in place a new aluminum sink, and installed a new four-stove range. Now my dad and I are fighting whether to put some miniature paintings or a wallclock (with real legumes, beans, and peas inside its face) which I got from the office party yesterday on the kitchen wall.

We have also repositioned the TV, allowing guests sitting on the retained sofa a better viewing sight. We have bought a new darkwood center table, which is still being made as of this moment, and a matching floor rug.

*Our house is painted yellow. Yellow. Imagine that.

Now the only thing gone amiss in this whole home improvement project is my room. Shopping carrier bags are everywhere! My bags mingle with my clumsily stashed jeans. Magazines are strewn all over the floor and my stack of DVDs looks like it’ll collapse any minute. Plastics containing dated newspapers from KL and Hong Kong add to the mess, while boxes that once contained shoes, gifts, and even a printer share space in this total chaos. I promised I would clean up my room today, but being the lazy potato that I am, I chose to watch my recently downloaded Lost Season 2 episodes. I don’t think I’d be able to tomorrow, since I’m off to see King Kong with my buds.

Next weekend, perhaps? Oh shoot, it’s Christmas!

12 Responses to “home improvement”


  1. 1 Shigeki December 18, 2005 at 1:12 pm

    You have a lot of things going on. Just don’t tire yourself as Christmas is on its way. :-)

    By the by, I am so in love with Charlie from Lost. He keeps saying “bloody” and I find it annoying generally but he is an exception. :-)

    Happy Sunday!

  2. 2 Mark December 18, 2005 at 6:02 pm

    Hey Shigeki! All’s under control, I guess. I am stressed not with the renovation going on, but with the gifts I have yet to buy! Ugh!

    It’s the 2nd time you mentioned this about Charlie. :) You must really love that boy.

    Happy Sunday in Amsterdam!

  3. 3 Chas Ravndal December 18, 2005 at 7:36 pm

    hello Mark!! Yellow paint? Anyways, thanks for dropping by on my blog.. I do have a pic of that guy Martin but I cant just post it you know..

  4. 4 Chaichakri December 19, 2005 at 2:36 am

    Hey, my house is also Yellow.. well not really bright sunshine yellow, but more like soothing cream colour…

    I like home-ronavation too. Minus all the hassle, you get a ‘brand’ new house….

    Hey, post some pictures, and we can all oogle at your new stuff at home…

  5. 5 savante December 19, 2005 at 2:29 pm

    Home renovations and decor. Damn, boy, you’re speaking my language! :) I just finished painting a table lamp for display!

    Paul

  6. 6 Mark December 19, 2005 at 3:30 pm

    Hey Chas!
    Yes, yellow, as in bright yellow. Somebody said in your blog that s/he has seen HIS pic; show it to me too! ^_^

    Hey Kitjar!
    Did I need to repeat it? I think your cream paint suits my taste more than what our house was painted with. +_+

    Hey Paul!
    Wow on the painting the table lamp. I’m really not that hands-on in home decor and craft. I just position and reposition stuff. Bet your house looks spanking! ^_^

    Good day y’all!

  7. 7 Mr. Brian December 19, 2005 at 5:37 pm

    Yellow, Blue, and Green all seem to be odd colors for houses, yet they still get to be part of the bigger landscape. Some houses actually look good in the odd colors. I’m sure it looks better than it sounds.

  8. 8 Mark December 20, 2005 at 4:57 pm

    Hello Mr. Brian!
    I’m still not sure if our house actually looks good in yellow. I’m still darting my eye from looking at it every time I go out of the house. It’ll sink into me, sooner or later, I guess. :)
    Thanks for dropping by!

  9. 9 Chas Ravndal December 20, 2005 at 7:53 pm

    yeah i will mark if you have a YM addie I might it to you. He looks typical Norwegian: blonde, blue and cute.. I simply cant get enough…. i can’t wait for him to come back in Bergen

  10. 10 Mark December 22, 2005 at 6:54 pm

    He sounds delish to me! Har dee har! Hope he comes back to Bergen soon! Add me to your YM, mjc_carandang@yahoo.com

    Hear from ya soon!

  11. 11 Chas Ravndal December 22, 2005 at 8:08 pm

    sure mark already added you now

  12. 12 Rasheed's World December 24, 2005 at 6:54 pm

    NIce blog you have here and interesting entries. Please visit my blog, Rasheed’s World, and have a look around.


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


