baby, talk is pink


After work today, I went to a nearby mall to FedEx some stuff to Norway and tagged along a gay friend-colleague. I was supposed to send Knut his Christmas gifts tonight but decided to postpone it when I learned that the shipment would arrive in Oslo 2-3 days after, and I want Knut to receive it closest to or on Christmas Day. You see, last year, I sent a package by December 20, and was told that it should land in Oslo after 3-4 days, just in time for the eve of Christmas or so. As you could have figured out, it didn’t arrive on time, and when it did, it was almost New Year! I am not really blaming FedEx; I guess I just made the shipment at the peak of their operations and with a gazillion gifts being transferred from one country to another. So I might just send it by mid-December or a few days earlier so my gift would be knocking on Knut’s door at just the right timing.

Anyway, so we had dinner of jambalayas-fried chicken-biscuits and a dessert of my gay friend-colleague’s stories on unrequited love, his dreams of building a mega-city of which he is the mayor, and of his outpouring of blessings this year. E*dict (his name), graduated from college just last February and his film thesis, “When Fingers Talk Pink” premiered in this year’s Pink Film Festival in Manila (June, 2005); and his was the only student-entry. It captured the magic and home cooked charms of “hard-of-hearing” gays whose sign language takes wild flights of fancy. It has also travelled down south when it made rounds in the Pink Film Festival in Davao City. Since then, he has received a call from the Tokyo International Lesbian and Gay Film Festival that shortlisted and is currently reviewing his work for a possible inclusion. Also, he has yet to hear word from Clermont – Ferrand Short Film Festival in France so we are keeping our pink fingers crossed. If you know any committee member of transgender/short film festivals who might be interested in hearing from this brilliant new voice from the Philippines, please drop a note at edictnavarro@gmail.com. I’d truly appreciate it! And oh, don’t tell him I told you… He wanted to keep everything low-key. Sshhhh. ^_^

And talking of pink, my boss gave me a Confessions on a Dance Floor black shirt with a Madonna print emblazoned in hot pink. Delish!

5 Responses to “baby, talk is pink”


  1. 1 Chas Ravndal December 2, 2005 at 7:17 pm

    nice shirt with a madonna print.. I want ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 Shigeki December 3, 2005 at 6:35 pm

    Shipping gifts during the Christmas season is always hard. It might take longer than I thought but it took way shorter…

    There is the service you could determine the delivery date. I hope some compaines there have that kind of services.

  3. 3 savante December 5, 2005 at 1:40 pm

    Wear the shirt! And make sure it’s tight!

    paul

  4. 4 Mark December 5, 2005 at 5:16 pm

    Hi c.jordan!
    Thanks! I was really happy when my boss gave it to me. I hope you get one, too!

    Hi Shigeki,
    I know it’s really a busy season for shipping gifts. I think you could track your shipment at the FedEx website with a transaction number given to you. So I might go FedEx again, or maybe try DHL.

    Hi Paul,
    It is not too tight; but it is not loose, thank god! It’s travesty to wear a loose Madonna shirt. Hehe.

    Have a good day y’all! :)

  5. 5 Mark December 5, 2005 at 6:34 pm

    It’s a SMALL size, by the way. So it’s either they have a BIG small size. Or I’ve gotten slimmer. Yeah, right. I wish! ^_^


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


