takeo kikuchi, baby!


Today, despite the non-existence of winter in tropical Manila, I brought with me to the office my Takeo Kikuchi scarf. Knut gave the scarf to me as a gift, something which he especially picked up during his trip to Tokyo. Takeo Kikuchi is a Japanese fashion brand and I don’t really know any more of it other than that. But from the looks of its website (yep, it has a website, and a visually-arresting one at that), it seems to be a stylishly edgy designer label, bringing to mind the likes of John Galliano or Vivienne Weswood.

I’ve always wanted a scarf, initially the one from Burberry with its trademark checks (still remains one of the must-buys in my lifetime, haha!), even though I could not possibly conceive of a use for it in Manila. So it was surprisingly thoughtful that Knut got me one, and it’s so beautiful! I like its palette of warm colors and the feel of it wrapped around my neck. Thanks to the office airconditioning, I had the chance to wear it albeit looking so out-of-place!

As for me, I gave Knut a designer-rubber ducky to add to his small collection. I got it from Room in Suria KLCC in Kuala Lumpur, and it’s inspired by Tiffany & Co. Tagged Darling Duck & Co. (“Darling, darling, I’m hardly a cheap duck”), it carries the same robin-egg blue color that’s trademark to Tiffany, with rows of tiny white polka dots on the lower part of it. It even came in a box that’s reminiscent of the famous Tiffany Blue Box.

Now isn’t gift-giving fun?

6 Responses to “takeo kikuchi, baby!”


  1. 1 Shigeki November 19, 2005 at 7:44 am

    The touch of the colors is very Takeo Kikuchi. :-) How nice. Maybe, when you go to Oslo (wait, is that where your boy is from?), you could use that scarf. How pretty. :-)

  2. 2 Mark November 19, 2005 at 8:05 am

    Yup, this should come in handy during fall/winter in oslo. Yup, he’s from there ;-) So is Takeo a popular designer in Tokyo? Thanks, Shigeki!

  3. 3 Chas Ravndal November 19, 2005 at 8:05 pm

    Oh I must buy that.. been looking Burberry scarf here in Bergen, Norway but havent found one yet.. I guess I should get that instead if its available here

  4. 4 Chas Ravndal November 19, 2005 at 8:12 pm

    and by the way can you ask your guy from Oslo where he got it or from what store? Thanks.. and when are you coming to Norway ?

  5. 5 Mark November 20, 2005 at 5:33 pm

    Hello c.jordan!
    Ooops, I think i misconstructed my sentence. I didn’t get any Burberry scarf from him, what I got instead was a Takeo Kikuchi.
    He did look for a Burberry scarf (with the classic, trademark checks) in Oslo and Stockholm but did not find any. I found one here in Manila though, at Rustan’s, and I didn’t know it’s priced that ridiculously! :-)
    Re: going to Norway, I don’t know just yet… ;-)
    Tussen takk for dropping by!

  6. 6 Chas Ravndal November 23, 2005 at 1:35 pm

    What I mean was the Takeo Kikuchi scarf since I don’t want to buy any Burberries now otherwise you will be labeled as a chav. But I really find that Takeo scarf very nice .. What store in Oslo did he buy that scarf.. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 9 other followers

Categories


