lost and found


You will never know the terror of losing a child until it happens to you.

Today, in an out-of-town trip two hours south of Manila, I thought I lost one of my nieces.

After visiting the cemetery and with dark clouds impending that usual November 1 downpour, we decided to go to a local mall for lunch and a movie. In between alighting on the driveway and entering the mall, we somehow lost my niece. While her mother thought she was with our group, our group assumed she was with her. Suddenly, a pang of panic brought terror on all of us. We went scampering on all directions to look for my niece. We asked people and security guards in the proximity of the area where she went missing, only to be fallen by their obliviousness to our loss. Thoughts of bad things happening to her started fucking with my mind. With each heavy step, my body grew colder and colder. With each hopeless turn, only murmured prayers kept me going.

Thirty minutes into our search, I received a call from my mom saying my niece had been found wandering by a security guard, and that she is safe in the mall’s office. I wanted to finally cry right there and then. I thought I lost her forever. I love her and her sister. They are the kids I will never have. And I would do anything, to the best of my ability, to always keep them safe, healthy, and well taken care of.

Such is the premise of Jodie Foster’s edge-of-your-seat thriller, Flight Plan. Go see this great movie, and learn to keep your kids close to you, all the time.

2 Responses to “lost and found”


  1. 1 Anonymous November 3, 2005 at 8:17 am

    Want a free ipod nano? visit free ipod nano

  2. 2 Mark November 3, 2005 at 12:19 pm

    oh shoot, the inevitable spam comments have invaded me! should i turn on that word-verification thingiemadong? hmmm…


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


