going, gone


Going…

I pushed through with my visa application today. It was so bad to wake up before the world does; it was way too freakin’ early for my system! Standing in line with a thousand (so, okay, that was an exaggeration) applicants for three hours was worse. I was like a sore thumb sticking out of the crowd, what with my crisp white shirt, my dark gray pinstripe pants, and a gray jacket that I had to keep in my case since the people beside me might think I was too much. Well, I just wanted to look fine, that’s all. It’s not everyday that you submit yourself to a consul who ultimately decides if you’d be given a visa to enter their oh so beautiful land.

It’s not so bad, standing in line with the thousand (yet, again) other applicants, after all. You’d be amused actually. You’d want to dart a killer look to that heavily made-up bitch blah-blah-ing to death on how to go about with the application, at a decibel rate louder than the passing traffic. Or scream back to that screaming (crying is an understatement, dear) baby. Or that one guy dressed in an ill-fitting undershirt, a baggy pair of jeans, and a killer boots made for a go-go boy to match. Eek!

Well, anyway, we entered the airconditioned (thank God!) hall after three hours and with my heart pumping at a thousand-beats per hour, I waited until my number – 56 – was flashed on the marquee. The interview wasn’t so bad as I expected. The interviewer was a rather nice woman, probably in her early 30’s. She seemed Japanese to me, but her English sounded so Filipino, so I was confused. Kicking that aside, I think I answered her questions briefly, to the point, and most of all, honestly. Whatta relief that she was smiling most of the time in the course of the interview, asking me basically what I’d be doing in their oh so beautiful land, checking if I got my name and significant dates right, that sort of stuff, all clocked at under five minutes. That was rather fast, I hope that’s a good thing. *crosses fingers* I was asked to return after one week for the verification stage.

Until then, wish me luck guys. Please, please, pretty please!

Gone.

I’m off to a farewell party for one of the dearest people in the office. She’s not moving out until mid-November, but we are throwing her a celebration (yes, a celebration, you read that right) in a hotel tonight. She’s dying to move out and on to join another company after her five-year stint at our office.

This fantastic woman is more than a boss to most of us at the office. She’s a very good friend and a fun, crazy bitch (in a good way), too! You will be missed deeply. See you again, soon!

3 Responses to “going, gone”


  1. 1 tenchu October 14, 2005 at 10:20 am

    goodluck on your trip!!! take pics!!! lots of ’em!

  2. 2 Shigeki October 14, 2005 at 5:52 pm

    I hope things will go well on your visa application! I know how you exactly felt. I’ve done visa applications for a student visa, a working visa and all. And I feel very shaky when I go there and have to explain things…. Weird bad place. :-)

  3. 3 Mark October 15, 2005 at 9:12 am

    Thank you, Tenchu and Shigeki, for your well wishes!

    I’d definitely take loads of photos; this beautiful place has a lot of breathtaking scenes and spaces. My mind’s running wild now. :D

    I was trembling inside, Shigeki! Jitters and all. Really, my heart was beating so fast and my hands were so cold. :D Will be back in that weird bad place again this Friday. Hope it’ll bring some great news for me!


Leave a Reply

Tweet Tweet!

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Categories


